Worthiness?

Originally Posted 04 January 2010 at http://www.plimtuna.com

Why this big time Investment: As I sat down on Friday to begin my Bible in a Year Adventure my first thought was “Why am I doing this?” I thought about the time investment – an estimated 15 – 20 minutes a day. If I read first thing in the morning, it means I have to set my alarm 15 minutes earlier. Is that sleep worth more than reading through the Bible? Calculated out over the full year it will take 90 – 120 hours to read through the whole Bible. That is two – three workweeks. That is 4 – 5 whole days. I could use that time to take a vacation, repaint a few rooms in the house, do physical exercise (which I definitely could use) or even watch 4 seasons of Mythbusters. They are all ok activities. However, for me this particular activity, reading through the Bible in a year, is an especially worthy activity.

So within the first two minutes of sitting down to read on January 1, Genesis chapters 1 – 3, I came up with these three reason why this particular activity was a worth activity.

He is worthy. Since I begin my reading each day in a short time of prayer and reflection my first thoughts of the first reading on the first day of the year were ones of praise and adoration to God Himself. The first words of my prayer were “I praise you because you are worthy.” If God is truly there, and if He truly is all powerful, all knowing, loving, just, perfect, beyond measures of time, etc. then He is worthy of my measly 15 – 20 minutes a day. That was my first thought, then after my prayer to kick off the year, I start to read Genesis 1. I run across simply sentences that are loaded with meaning and impact. “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” “And God said…”. “So God created man…” He is worthy of my time in this endeavor because as we will read later on our journey…

Psalm 134:13-14

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

His Word is worthy. When I started this blog, I mentioned that one of my motivations was to invest in something that has always been important in my faith – the Bible. Why? Because in my life, I needed it for my personal instruction and training. I needed to depend on the Bible more than I depended on what men had to say about the issues of faith and religion. A critical part of my earlier criticism of religions was that the people I was criticizing did not even know why they believed what they believed or took the time to challenge/understand what their religious leaders were saying to them.

As we go through this adventure this year we will later come upon verses such as these, which I believe tell us that the Bible is worthy of our time because it will challenge us to grow, to learn and to correct our paths:

Psalm 119:9-11

9 How can those who are young keep their way pure?
By living according to your word.

10 I seek you with all my heart;
do not let me stray from your commands.

11 I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you.

II Timothy 3:16-17

16All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

I am worthy (as an investment). Lastly, on that first morning of this year’s journey I thought that I was worth of an investment. From the verses shared above, we know that:

1. God created everything, even man.

2. God created and knew me from the moment of my conception.

3. God’s word is profitable for me.

God has such a love for His creation (including you and me) that he went so far as to send His only Son to die for us on a cross. God has such a desire to speak to us and to guide us in our paths that He ensured that His Word would be made available to us. He ensured that the teachings of Moses all the way through to the prophecies of John in the Book of Revelations would be available to us. God has invested in us and it is appropriate that we use His Word to also invest in us. We will be better for our time spent in this adventure.

Sure we could use the time to invest in a vacation or painting a room or watching four seasons of Mythbusters, but when it is all said and done those are only temporal investments. The rooms will have to be repainted one day, the vacation will come to an end and there will always be another Mythbusters like show. However, God’s Word is eternal, our souls are eternal and He is eternal. What better way to spend some of your day than to invest in eternal matters. Taking 15 – 20 minutes a day to read through the Bible is a worthy activity.

_____________

Reading plan status: I was personally challenged to stay on my chronological reading schedule already in the first four days. We came back from Guatemala on Saturday/Sunday. We spent 28 hours door to door to get home and we were tired. I had lots of excuses to skip a day, or fall behind, but thanks to God, I stayed on track, read each day and enjoyed it. How are you doing on your plan?

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worthiness?

  1. Pingback: And now for something completely different… « 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

