Timeliness Two…

It has been over a week since my last blog about being a classic rocker.  It is not because I have already failed in my endeavor to read through the Bible in a year or because I have been overwhelmed at work (hardly!).  It is because I have been recently challenged in other areas of my life.  As I come upon day 28 of the plan I am remembering that reading the Word every day can be life changing.  It can really put a crimp on a comfortable life.

Years before in my earlier attempts to read through the Bible in a year I noticed that many times things would begin to happen to me that directly related to my reading for that day or week.  One day I could be reading about the need to respond to God’s call to share the Word to the remotest part of the earth (Acts 1:8) and then have a conversation with a friend who is considering a call to the missions field.  Another day I could be reading about Joseph and Potiphar’s wife (Genesis 39) when I hear about a man who failed his wife, children, marriage and God by having an affair. 

Lately, I have been noticing things around me that relate to what I am reading.  In an earlier blog entitled Timeliness I shared how applicable even Genesis is to current events. It showed how so much we read in the news has connections all the way back to the earliest history of the Bible.  However, these connections are not only to current events in the world, but also to how God is working in my own life.  He is using the readings as preparation and teaching for my daily walk.  He is allowing me to read one thing in the morning, think and pray about it and then experience an opportunity to apply that reading later in my day. 

I actually enjoy these “Oh yeah” moments during my day.  These are moments when I say “Oh yeah, God is aware of my Bible reading and He is applying those truths to my life – today!” There is only one problem – you actually have to respond.  You have no excuse to fall short or stumble in your walk.  If you are reading God’s word and He is actively involved in your life then you have the ability to succeed with no excuses for not knowing better or not being prepared. 

For an encouraging study on what it means to have God’s word in your life take a look at Psalm 119.  See how many benefits are listed for a person who takes in God’s Word (also referred to as laws, statutes, ways, decrees, commands, precepts, wisdom etc. )  I am seeing the benefit of His personal interaction with me.  Remember one of our earliest verses of the year… Hebrews 4:12

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

If you want to experience a unique connection with God, read His word, it is living and active.  If you want that connection daily, then read His word daily.

Final Note:  I am nearing the end of the book of Job, and it seems to be especially applicable lately.  Keep me in your prayers.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

