February Update (+4 days)- Our first Spam!

I had intended to post a “State of the Blog” post on the last day of each month.  Unfortunately, I was heavily distracted on Sunday and it slipped my mind.

So here it is 4 days late.

February was a good month for One Man, One Year, One Book.  Here are some points to share:

  1. Our page views in January were only 82.  In February we had 249 page views.  That is a 300% improvement
  2. The sites busiest day was on February 24th, when I sent out a special e-mail announcing the Blog.  39 page views
  3. 7 posts were written during the month. The most often read was “Ja, Ja, Maar…”.  In close second was “Moving Day…”
  4. Our first contest started.  There is still time to enter your submission.
  5. We received our first bit of Spam as a comment!  That is a significant milestone as it means someone who knows nothing about us or the Blog found us.  It feels like the old days when the new phone book would come out and we would open immediately to our name to see it printed.  It means we exist!  😉

Personally, it has been a good month.  What started out as a personally challenging month ended on a high note.  For two reasons:

  1. During the month my family caught up with me and we are all reading the same passages every day.  This has been a plus to our dinner conversation as we discuss what we are reading. 
  2. On the last day of the month my church voted to accept three of my peers and I to become their new elder team.  It is a great challenge and we are all looking forward to the ministry opportunities.

Reading wise (the most important part) we have now read all of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus and Job.  We have started Numbers and should complete it, as well as Deuteronomy, Joshua and we will start Judges in March.  Personally, Joshua and Judges are two of my favorite Old Testament history books.  I anticipate lots of writing.

I am still interested in creating a dialog.  How are you doing on your daily reading?  Are you enjoying it?  Have you found your routine that makes it easy to not fall behind?  What has worked for you?  What has God been teaching you?  How has your life been impacted?  Have you shared the blog with anyone else?

Thanks for reading with me.

Plimtuna

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Monthly Updates, Read through the Bible in a Year. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February Update (+4 days)- Our first Spam!

  1. crschecha says:

    Well thanks for every blog that you have made, because this keeps me in motivation for the daily reading.
    Now the daily reading of the bible is part of my routine, i can’t sleep if i don’t finish the chapters of the day.
    The pentateuco is very interesting and i am learning, how bigger is the power of GOD. When i was child i had read the first 5 books of the bible, but now that i am older i can understand much better the behavior, holiness and the power of GOD.

    Let’s keep together in the daily learn of the word of the allmighty GOD.
    🙂

    • plimtuna says:

      I was taught once it takes 40 days to form a habit and only one day to break it. It sounds like you have a nice habit formed. It is a habit that has eternal value!

      If you have not read Joshua and Judges lately, they are very full of application. I am anxiously awaiting them.

Leave a Reply

