639,836,670 seconds to live

Today’s reading:  DEUTERONOMY 31:30-32:52, PSALM 90

I have 639,836,670  seconds left to live.  I suppose the number has changed a bit since I wrote it down.  Opps, it just changed again.  I suppose it is too exact.  I am going to die on Sunday, June 29, 2030.  Let me help you out, I have about 20 years left.  How can I be so sure, you ask?  Well, because the internet told me so.  I have to believe everything I read on the internet, don’t I?    

  

When is your clock going to stop?

 

Because people are so unsure about the future, they want to know how much time they have left. How about you?  Here are four tools to find out when you are going to die:   

When will I die – Calculate your life expectancy   

http://www.gotoquiz.com/special/when_will_i_die.html    

http://www.deathtimer.com/   

http://www.deathclock.com   

I ran my numbers through the tools above and I got four different answers.  Most optimistic was 78 years, followed by 72 years old and finally the most pessimistic was 67 years old.  So I have a new plan in my life, I am going to spend all my pension, 401K monies, savings etc so that I am broke somewhere around 72 years of age.  I figured I would split the middle of the estimates. Sound like a good plan?   

Of course it is not a good plan.  Who is going to make life decisions based upon a tool from the internet?  God is the one who decides when we die, isn’t He?  Our days are in His hands, it is not something man can known (let alone the Internet!).  The author of Ecclesiastes had something to say on this…   

Ecclesiastes 9:11-12 (NIV)   

11 I have seen something else under the sun: 
       The race is not to the swift   

       or the battle to the strong,   

       nor does food come to the wise   

       or wealth to the brilliant   

       or favor to the learned;   

       but time and chance happen to them all.   

12 Moreover, no man knows when his hour will come:   

       As fish are caught in a cruel net,   

       or birds are taken in a snare,   

       so men are trapped by evil times   

       that fall unexpectedly upon them.   

What does all this have to do with today’s reading?  What was interesting in today’s reading is that we jumped way ahead to Psalm 90.  Why jump to Psalm 90?  Because it was written by Moses.  Did you know that Moses wrote a Psalm?  I quite honestly had forgotten.   But this is the value of reading the Bible chronologically, we get to read Moses’ psalm when we are reading about Moses and not 3 months from now.  In the middle  of Moses’ psalm we find this verse:   

Psalm 90:12 (NIV)   

12 Teach us to number our days aright,   

       that we may gain a heart of wisdom.   

Psalm 90:12 (NLT)   

12 Teach us to realize the brevity of life,   

      so that we may grow in wisdom.   

So what does it mean for us to number our days or to realize the brevity of life?   

Moses is praying, asking God to teach us to understand how short our live really is.  If we really understood how short our life is, we would treat the time we have left differently. Moses is praying asking us to use that knowledge in a worthy manner.   

How are we using the time we have left?  Are we wasting it away in some meaningless human pursuit?  Are we spending too much time at work or play and not enough time on the things that God smiles on?  Are we investing that time in eternal things or things of this world that will also one day pass away?   

Definitely something to think about.   

By the way, since I started writing this particular blog I lost nearly 4000 seconds, I only have 639,832,957 left .   

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms, Read through the Bible in a Year, Some Lessons Learned and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 639,836,670 seconds to live

  1. rseguel says:

    Nice article to keep me thinking about how I expend my time. I’d like to add that in the same book of Ecclesiastes 12:1 there is a strong relation with what you have written. That also remembers us how short is our life and how important is expend our time serving our God while we have enough health to do it.

  2. plimtuna says:

    You got it right. That is the message of today’s blog. Thanks for adding to the dialog.

Leave a Reply

