March Update – What a month!

25 % through our plan!

 

Time for my monthly update.  Many topics to share:  

1.  Actual Reading Plan:  I am very happy to say that my family and I are on track.  With today’s reading we have fully completed 7 books (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua and Job) plus a few verses here and there and Psalm 90.  I have heard from many friends who are also on path, and a few that need some encouragement.  

2.  Creating a Dialog:  March was a good month for using the blog as a means to create a dialog.  In March we had more comments and discussions than the other two and 1/2 months combined.  We had over 40 comments in March compared to 10 in the first 9 weeks.  For me this is one of the exciting parts of the blog writing experience.  Without comments I often feel like a guy who paints a picture, hangs it on a wall and then never have anyone stop to take a look and comment.  

3.  Page Views:  Boy, oh boy did we have visitors in March!  In one sense it is quite encouraging, but in another it is scary.  With monthly page views growth of nearly 275% each month, how am I going to keep the up?  It seems like I have to come up with even more insightful ideas to keep the momentum going.  Check out this growth in page views:  

  • December 2009 = 20 views
  • January 2010 = 103 views
  • February 2010 = 249 views
  • March 2010 = ~700  views

4.  Posts:  Some good news and some sad news.  First the good news – I was a prolific writer in March – 22 posts!   

As you can see the average number of views per post is actually down a bit.  Not to worry, slow and easy wins the race as my father used to say.  The sad news is that we had a contest to invite the readers to write a blog and no one entered.  But I think that will change soon (just ask Ricardo).  

5.  Web site enhancements:  I changed the theme once in March.  While the theme is nicer to look at I think I have to change it again, so watch for one or two of those e-mails that you simple delete ( you get them if you subscribe to the blog).   You can subscribe with the link on the far right column.  

Two additions to the site:   

A.  Sermons etc.:  I have been asked by many to post the slides from my sermons on-line.  So I started to do that.  The latest ones are here.  

B.  Photos of Reader’s of The Word:  A page where I would love to put your picture as one who reads The Word with me.  Send me a photo and I will post it here.  

Finally, I want to make sure I am not giving the wrong impression.  The blog and site is not about generating numbers and web traffic.  The goal all along has been to get people into God’s Word more, on a daily basis.  As I communicate with people about the blog, I know  that they are doing exactly what I had hoped and prayed.  They are in the Word daily.  Whether it is my family that is reading the Chronological full year plan or the young married couple that are going through the 60 Day Chronological condensed plan or the student who is trying to get his reading in while keeping up on his studies, I know people are reading more.  That is what  this is all about.   

I hope and pray that you are bringing God’s Word into your lives on a daily basis.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

