And now for something completely different…

Today’s Reading: Ruth 1:1 – 4:12

Wow, do we need a breath of fresh air or what? It is time to open up a window and let the Spring air flood into our rooms. The last few weeks of reading through Deuteronomy, Joshua and Judges have been rough; especially the last couple days in Judges. Did you ever realize how brutal and bloody societies were back then? Then again, maybe our society is just as depressing depraved. 

Thankfully, today we have a lovely story to read.Today we read of Naomi and Ruth and Boaz.  We will even read of a woman who lends her name (albeit misspelled) to the richest female entertainer in America. Today we will read of the great-grandmother of King David and thus an ancestor of Jesus.  Today we read one of only two books in the Bible named for a woman (the other is Ester).  It is wonderfully written and tells the story of a widow and her mother in law. A truly uplifting story of love and redemption. It is also a story close to my heart.   

I am not going to repeat the story – I want you to take the time to read it, it is worth the time (isn’t all of our reading worth the time?).  But I am going to tell you why it is a story close to my heart. 

In 1989 I was in my 3rd year of ministry with Youth For Christ.  I had settled into my ministry routine and seeing results.  I was enjoying my work immensely.  During that year I kept a prayer journal. I was studying to improve my Spanish due to all the Hispanic youth I was working with.  I wrote my prayers in Spanish each morning as a means to practice my Spanish and to see how God was working through my prayers.  

In the Spring of 1989 I began to pray for a wife.  In my eyes it was time to move on to the next phase of my life.  The time of being an uncommitted bachelor should have been coming to an end.  So, on a regular basis I wrote simple prayers like: 

Senor, gracias por la esposa que me vas a dar.  Lord, thank you for the wife you are going to give me. 

Senor, te pido que me ayudas encontrar una esposa.  Lord, I ask you to help me find a wife. 

Senor, te pido que me darías una esposa cristiana, una esposa que te quiere.  Lord, I ask that you give me a Christian wife, a wife that loves you. 

I still have that prayer journal, though it is in a box in storage back in America.  Twenty years later I can tell you how God answered those prayers.  He answered them very quickly. 

In 1989 I met Elizabeth, she is the guilty party that eventually introduced me to my wife (her cousin).  She was a conversational Spanish teacher at an intensive language school I attended in the summer of 1989.  We became friends and she gave me the address of my wife in Guatemala.  She shared of how she knew we were right for each other. 

On December 26, 1989 I sent my first pen pal letter to my wife.  15 letters and six months later she came to Chicago to visit.  Eight days after she landed at Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport we were engaged and 6 weeks later we were married.  When God wants to, He can answer prayers clearly and quickly! 

At two of our three weddings (another story for another day) my wife Lisy included verses from Ruth in her vows.  

Ruth 1:16 – 17 (NLT) 

16 But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. 17 Wherever you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord punish me severely if I allow anything but death to separate us!” 

While the verse is not referring to a husband and a wife this was a special way for Lisy to say that she was going to be my wife.  She left her home in Guatemala and she came to live with me.  She left her family in Guatemala to start a family with me.  She came with me to worship Jesus Christ as her Lord and Savior. 

Our letters were jetting back and forth this very week 20 years ago (for the younger reader, it was in a time long, long ago, a time before e-mail, chat, Facebook and Skype). 

For twenty years she has gone where I have gone, from Bloomington, to Forest Park, to Oak Park and now to Eindhoven, Netherlands.  My people are her people, as she loves all those around her.  My God has become her God.  My Savior is her Savior.  When either of us die, the other will be buried next to them.  

Wasn’t it nice to read Ruth today? 

Lisy and I Dec 2009 close crop webPS:  If the Spanish is bad, it is because I want it to be as accurate as my writings 20 years ago 😉  

PPS:  Special shout out to the reverend and friend that married my lovely wife and I, Greg is a faithful blog reader

_____ 

Related blogs by Plimtuna: 

Worthiness

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 08 - Ruth, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And now for something completely different…

  1. Cesar Sandoval says:

    Hey Tim!.For me this is the one of best blog that you, have been posted! Congrats!!!

  2. Sue Aley Avea says:

    Gracias por compartir esta historia; cada vez que la escucho, sé que mis oraciones serán escuchadas por Dios, en su momento.

    Thanks for sharing this story with me once again; every time I listened to it, I know that my prayers are being listening by God, at His proper moment…

    • plimtuna says:

      WOW! Bienvenida! Tienes toda la razon, Dios contesta en Su momento en Su manera. La cosa es que El si contesta.

      Wow – Welcome You are so right, God answers in His time and His way. The thing is that He does answer!

  3. Jubin Jacob says:

    Sorry I saw this only today… But that verse that Lisy quoted from Ruth, which although is in a different context, fits perfectly in marriage. I was deeply moved as I read it. Thanks for this post! Blessed!

  4. Pingback: Contempt for God’s Offerings « 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  5. Pingback: I once found a treasure | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

