An anti Ja, Ja, Maar Man

Today’s Reading:  1 Samuel 17:32-19:17; Psalm 59; 1 Samuel 19:18-24 

I have written four times about men, who when confronted with a challenge to do something for God they doubt their calling.  They hem and haw and give reasons why they shouldn’t trust God’s ability to pick them as a tool in God’s plan.

Today, we meet the Anti-Ja-Ja-Maar Man.  Here we meet a man who not only doesn’t turn away from a challenge.  But he actively looks for ways to be used by God.  He looks for ways that he can depend upon God’s power to accomplish great and mighty things.

In yesterday’s reading we met David, the youngest boy in a shepherd family.  He was chosen by God as Israel’s next king.  He was anointed with oil by Samuel.  Only problem was, Saul was still king.

Today’s story is one of the most famous stories from the Old Testament.  Every child in every Sunday School class learns the story of the boy who with five small stones was able to take down the giant Goliath.  How did David say he was going to do this?

I Samuel 17:45 – 47 (NLT)

45 David replied to the Philistine, “You come to me with sword, spear, and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies—the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 Today the Lord will conquer you, and I will kill you and cut off your head. And then I will give the dead bodies of your men to the birds and wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel! 47 And everyone assembled here will know that the Lord rescues his people, but not with sword and spear. This is the Lord’s battle, and he will give you to us!”

David says that the it is the Lord’s battle.  It is the Lord that is doing the work. David is just an agent of the Lord’s will.  David is allowing the Lord to use him.  You can sense it so strongly, that David is not only allowing to be used of the Lord, but that he is forcing the issue.  It is as if David is saying  “Lord, here I am, use me.”

How often to you and I step and say, “Lord, here I am, use me.”  Too often we are the ones who say “I can’t speak well” Or “there are scary people in the land you promised us.”  Or we are the ones who have to lay out fleeces two times to confirm God’s plan for us while we are hiding in the baggage.

Let’s follow David’s example and lets jump up and shout “Lord, here I am, use me to knock down your enemies with five smooth stones”.

____

Related Posts:

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 09 - I Samuel, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An anti Ja, Ja, Maar Man

  1. Greg M says:

    I recently have been spending time in Galatians and see a parallel with this topic. Paul admonishes the Galatians because after beginning their walk through faith they are attempting to continue it in their own power.

    Galatians 3

    1You foolish Galatians! Who has bewitched you? Before your very eyes Jesus Christ was clearly portrayed as crucified. 2I would like to learn just one thing from you: Did you receive the Spirit by observing the law, or by believing what you heard? 3Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort? 4Have you suffered so much for nothing—if it really was for nothing? 5Does God give you his Spirit and work miracles among you because you observe the law, or because you believe what you heard?

    Maybe you are like me in this – it is a place I struggle. I start in faith, then try to prove to God “I” am worthy, that I bring something to the Kingdom. It would be as if David put Saul’s armor on to make sure he could deliver his best shot at Goliath.

    Here are some thoughts from a sermon I heard recently regarding this.

    Signs that you may be falling under law in you walk with Jesus:
    – More time in prayer spent apologizing than giving thanks
    – Prayer declines and is hard to enjoy
    – Most prayer centers on self
    – Anxiety and insecurity
    – Inability to admit fault to others
    – Rationalizing, minimizing, and blame- shifting
    – Constant comparison of self and others
    – Focus shifting from loving others to personal holiness (ouch!)
    – Man-pleasing – need to impress others
    – Dishonesty – pretend you’re better than you are
    – Judgmental – lack of grace toward others
    – Focus shifts to minor, external moral issues
    – Spiritual starvation leads to vulnerability (If abiding in grace you should be spiritually refreshed, and your interest shifts to what really matters – reflecting God’s love)

  2. plimtuna says:

    That is a very thought provoking list. Thanks for sharing it. So much of my thoughts and studies lately have been on our relationship to the Law and how Christ rid of us of it.

    Is it possible we “do Kingdom things” to provide ourselves with self affirmation? Since we struggle to hear affirmation from God, we seek it from men and ourselves?

    Very timely, thanks.

Leave a Reply

