What do you do in your Cave of Adullum?

Today’s Reading:  1 Samuel 22:1-2; Psalm 57; Psalm 142; 1 Chronicles 12:8-18; 1 Samuel 22:3-23; Psalm 52; 1 Samuel 23:1-12 

As we walk through this world we will encounter many challenges to our faith, our emotions, our energies, our desires, our hopes and dreams.  These challenges can come in many shapes.  One day a person can be used to shatter your dreams.  They simply tell you you are not smart enough for that career or they tell you that physically you will never play basketball.  Other times events come crashing down you.  The job you dreamed of is given to another. 

Other times the pain can be deeper and the hurt stronger.  People betray others all the time, it is an unfortunate part of our human nature.  We fail each other all the time.  Husband cheat on wives and wives on husbands.  Friend make bitter comments on your life to others.  Dear friends cheat you of opportunities that they knew you wanted.  Fellow employees stab you in the back at work.  Loved ones are taken from us too early or too often.

Pain can overwhelm us.  Pain can drive us to deep dark places, places where we feel all alone and miserable.  Places where the light of day can’t penetrate the depths of despair.

As we read through the story of David we have seen that he is quickly headed to that dark place, a cave of despair. 

How did David get to his Cave of Adullum?

We began reading about David a few days ago.  He was specifically chosen by God and anointed by Samuel to be the chosen King of Israel.  Saul had failed God and was not longer the chosen King.  David was a simple shepherd boy for a small insignificant family from a small tribe of Israel.  He soon found favor in the eyes of the Lord and the people of Israel.  He conquers the Lord’s enemies and he slays Goliath.  The people even sing songs about David:  Saul kills his hundreds and David his thousands.

He initially finds favor with Saul and joins the King’s court.  He finds a true friend in the son of the King, Jonathon.  The King even offers his daughter to David as a wife, and she actually loves him.   

David is at the top of the world and all seems right.  All of David’s intentions were pure and they have all been turned against him.

King Saul’s jealousy and anger begins to burn inside of him.  He can not stand David anymore and even tries kill him several times.  He deceives David and begins to not even trust his own son. 

What did David do while he was at his Cave of Adullum?

David flees Saul’s anger and death threats and find himself hiding in the cave of Adullum.  While he is there, others begin to join up with him.  But what is interesting is how David manages this dark time of his life.  David writes songs to the Lord:

Psalm 57 (NLT)

For the choir director: A psalm of David, regarding the time he fled from Saul and went into the cave. To be sung to the tune “Do Not Destroy!”

 1 Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy!
      I look to you for protection.
   I will hide beneath the shadow of your wings
      until the danger passes by.
 2 I cry out to God Most High,
      to God who will fulfill his purpose for me.
 3 He will send help from heaven to rescue me,
      disgracing those who hound me.
                         Interlude

   My God will send forth his unfailing love and faithfulness.

 4 I am surrounded by fierce lions
      who greedily devour human prey—
   whose teeth pierce like spears and arrows,
      and whose tongues cut like swords.

 5 Be exalted, O God, above the highest heavens!
      May your glory shine over all the earth.

 6 My enemies have set a trap for me.
      I am weary from distress.
   They have dug a deep pit in my path,
      but they themselves have fallen into it.
                         Interlude

 7 My heart is confident in you, O God;
      my heart is confident.
      No wonder I can sing your praises!
 8 Wake up, my heart!
      Wake up, O lyre and harp!
      I will wake the dawn with my song.
 9 I will thank you, Lord, among all the people.
      I will sing your praises among the nations.
 10 For your unfailing love is as high as the heavens.
      Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.

 11 Be exalted, O God, above the highest heavens.
      May your glory shine over all the earth.

Sara Groves, a Christian singer songwriter, aptly captured David’s situation in a song from her debut Conversations album.  Here are the lyrics to her Cave of Adullum:

Speak to me, speak to me in my cave of Adullam.
Reach to me, reach to me. No one cares for my soul.
I thought I saw your kingdom, but it’s not going to happen like I thought it would happen. .
Remind me, remind me of the vision you gave me.
Remind me, remind me what anointing oil is for.
I need to know you’re near me.
I need to know you are holding me just as closely .
 
Chorus:
as the day you took my life and gave me a vision,
as the day you poured the oil and gave me a dream.
I can’t believe this is happening.
How does a shepherd become a king?
 

What do we do when we are in our Cave of Adullum? 

When we are in our Adullum we can either wallow in self-pity, tremble in fear or we can cry out to the Lord and seek comfort in the knowledge that He is there.  Let us learn from David’s example in Psalm 57!

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 09 - I Samuel, 19 - Psalms, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year, Some Lessons Learned and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What do you do in your Cave of Adullum?

  1. rseguel says:

    Very nice article Tim, the Psalm is awesome.
    I’ve also felt in a cave sometimes. But what I only know is that after I cried out to the Lord, God’s hands has taken me off the cave, He has rescued me and He has given me new energies to go ahead with Him.

  2. plimtuna says:

    The hardest thing to do when you are in a cave is to look to God and stop being so focused on yourself and your pain and your suffering. It is too easy to be self absorbed.

  3. Pingback: Sooner or Later, God Fulfills Promises « 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  4. Pingback: Been living in a Cave Lately? | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

