Do You Want to be Victorious Wherever You Go?

Today’s Readings:  2 SAMUEL 7:1-; 7; 1 CHRONICLES 17:1-15; 2 ; AMUEL 7:18-29; 1 CHRONICLES ; 7:16-27; 2 SAMUEL 8:1-14; 1 CHRONICLES 18:1-13; PSALM 60

2005 White Sox

2005 chicago White Sox For my new Dutch friends I want to tell you a little about me.  I love baseball or honkball as you would call it. In my hometown of Chicago, you either support the National League Chicago Cubs, or the American League Chicago White Sox.  It can at times it can seem to be like a religious war with fanatics on each side.  Boys won’t date girls who are fans of the other team.  Parents disown children that convert to be fans of the other side.  It can get ugly.

For the first 35 years of my life I toiled away supporting a team that has not been to the World Series since 1945 and has not won the World Series since 1908;  That means that it has been over 101 years since they have been victorious in the World Series.

When my children were younger, and I became wiser I switched my allegiance to a the Chicago White Sox.  It was a slow changeover, but once I got the taste of a team that could have more victories than losses, I was hooked.  These White Sox players and their coaches actually played professional baseball, unlike their north side wanna-bes who only wore uniforms to make themselves look professional.

In 2005 my family and I got the thrill of our lives when the same year that we became super fans of the White Sox, they won the World Series. In no other baseball season of my life had I been to so many games.  I had actually kept track of every victory from the first month (April) until the last victory in October.  I even got to go to one of the league championship games.  Unfortunately it was the only one of their post season playoff games that they lost. 

In 2005 the White Sox were the team that was victorious.  They were victorious over their division, league and at the World Series.  There was actually a different team with more victories during the regular season.  The St. Louis Cardinals had 100 victories with 62 losses, while the Chicago White Sox had 99 victories and 63 losses during the regular season.

The best season that my team has ever had in my lifetime was a season when they only had victories about 61% of the time.  If they played five games, they lost 2.

In today’s story we read about a guys who was victorious a lot more than that.  Today we read about David’s victories. 

2 Samuel 8:14b (NLT)

In fact, the Lord made David victorious wherever he went.

Since the death of Saul and his son, we have been reading of all the victories David has had.  He has united the kingdom. He has conqueror the enemies.  He has returned the Ark of the Covenant to Jerusalem.  He is building a nation and a Kingdom. 

How can you be victorious wherever you go?

As we have been reading about the life of David for the last week or two we have had painted for us an image of a king.  Not just any king.  No, David is a a different kind of king.  We have an image of a king that is very aware of reality and who is wholly dedicated to the Lord.  Let’s take a look at some verses from today’s reading to get an idea of how one becomes victorious where he goes.

In David’s Prayer of Thanks from 2 Samuel 7:18 – 29 we see that David knows some things about his relationship with God.

  • v. 18-19  – David knows it is the Lord who has brought him this far.
  • v. 20 – David realizes that God knows everything about him. God knows who David really is.
  • v. 21 – David realizes that all the good things that have happened to him are because God made them happen.
  • v. 22 – David praises God.
  • v. 23- 24  – David recognizes the work of God over the centuries.
  • v. 25 – David recognizes is proper relationships to God, even as a king, David says that he is God’s servant.
  • v. 26-27 – David claims the promises of God. 
  • v. 28 – 29 David knows that words of God are true and stakes his claim on that belief.

There is a real lesson for us today.  If we want to be victorious wherever we go we can learn from the example of David.  By following these steps we can have real victory in our life, not only here on earth, but also an eternal victory.

  1. Know the Lord.
  2. Recognize that the Lord knows us to our most inner being.
  3. Know that the Lord provides the good in our life according to His will.
  4. Take time to praise the Lord.
  5. See how God has been working in our lives since He knit us in our mother’s womb.
  6. Know and claim the promises of God, which are in His Word.

Pray for me and I will pray for you that we can have them say later in our lives “In fact, the Lord made him victorious wherever he went.”

 

 

 

v.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 10 - 2 Samuel, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Want to be Victorious Wherever You Go?

  1. Pingback: A model of kindness « 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  2. Greg M says:

    White Sox? If the Pope beat Billy Graham in ping pong would you switch allegiances there too???

    • plimtuna says:

      I didn’t switch because of anyone beating anyone else. I switched mainly because it was more enjoyable and feasible to take my then young family to a game at Comisky than Wrigley. I was tired of the Wrigley party (an event not a game). I am seriously a baseball fanatic and found that the fans at Comisky got baseball more than the Cubs.

      Though I like the challenge of your question. I suppose if I got to wear the pope’s hat for a while I might be convinced.

Leave a Reply

