A very sad day

Today’s Overall Reading:  1 CHRONICLES 20:1; 2 SAMUEL 11:1-12:14; PSALM 51; 2 SAMUEL 12:15-25; 2 SAMUEL 5:14-16; 1 CHRONICLES 14:3-7; 1 CHRONICLES 3:5-9

Today’s Post Reading:  2 SAMUEL 11:1-12:14; PSALM 51

I am going to admit something to you today.  I really feel as though this year of Bible reading has been the most impacting to my life than any other year (except the first year of Bible reading in 1981-1982).  I really feel as though I am reading to know more about God, His Word and His dealings with His creation (man).  I have come to the conclusion that reading in order to get something out of the Word for use in Blog has been extremely beneficial. 

I have to admit that maybe the other years I read to say I read. It was a task. Something that I am supposed to be doing as a Christian.  Right?  We are supposed to read the Word every day.  Aren’t we? 

But this year the reading has been more meditative.  My reading starts with me asking God to give me something.  My reading continues with me looking for the purpose of the story or passage inclusion in the Bible.  Remember key verse for the year?

2 Timothy 3:16-17 (NIV)

16All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

A Sad Day

With that in mind I have really enjoyed getting to know David better these last two weeks.  I really believe that previously I thought of David as a series of Bible stories.  The Anointing, David and Goliath, David and Jonathon, David and his band of men, David Dancing before the Ark, David and Mephibosheth, and David and Bathsheba.

This year I see David as a man.  A man who desires so much to honor his Lord.  A man who so desires justice and peace.  A man who so much wants to do the right thing.

A Sad Day

This morning, I was saddened by what I read.  It is not that I did not know the story was coming, I did – I have preached on it several times.  But when I preach on the story of David and Bathsheba I take it out of context.  I don’t share the success after success after success that David has up until this time.  He has been a man after God’s own heart. He has been a man I would want to emulate.  He was fast becoming my hero, my role model, my friend.

A Sad Day

Without retelling the story of David and Bathsheba (if you don’t know the story, please read it – it is heart breaking), I can say this – it is a shock to my system to see a man fail so miserably.  It is sad to see a man with such a close walk with the Lord fail his men, his country, his family, his self – His Lord.

A Sad Day

Let us say it is as it is – David committed adultery.  David plotted to hide his sin.  David had a man killed to hide his sin.  David was selfish and arrogant and greedy and lost sight of God.  He blew it on a monumental scale.

A Brighter Day.

Man praying 2 But, there is more to the story of David and Bathsheba.  For when Nathan confronted David directly, there was an immediate recognition of his failure.

2 Samuel 12:13a (NLT)

13 Then David confessed to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”

And there is even better news – Nathan tells David that the Lord had already forgiven him.

2 Samuel 12:13b (NLT)

Nathan replied, “Yes, but the Lord has forgiven you, and you won’t die for this sin.

One of the real values of a chronological reading plan of the Bible is that immediately after Nathan’s confrontation and David’s confession we get to read David’s Psalm of confession and repentance (Psalm 51). 

Psalm 51 (NIV)

For the choir director: A psalm of David, regarding the time Nathan the prophet came to him after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba.

1 Have mercy on me, O God,
      because of your unfailing love.
   Because of your great compassion,
      blot out the stain of my sins.
2 Wash me clean from my guilt.
      Purify me from my sin.
3 For I recognize my rebellion;
      it haunts me day and night.
4 Against you, and you alone, have I sinned;
      I have done what is evil in your sight.
   You will be proved right in what you say,
      and your judgment against me is just.
5 For I was born a sinner—
      yes, from the moment my mother conceived me.
6 But you desire honesty from the womb,
      teaching me wisdom even there.

7 Purify me from my sins, and I will be clean;
      wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.
8 Oh, give me back my joy again;
      you have broken me—
      now let me rejoice.
9 Don’t keep looking at my sins.
      Remove the stain of my guilt.
10 Create in me a clean heart, O God.
      Renew a loyal spirit within me.
11 Do not banish me from your presence,
      and don’t take your Holy Spirit from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
      and make me willing to obey you.
13 Then I will teach your ways to rebels,
      and they will return to you.
14 Forgive me for shedding blood, O God who saves;
      then I will joyfully sing of your forgiveness.
15 Unseal my lips, O Lord,
      that my mouth may praise you.

16 You do not desire a sacrifice, or I would offer one.
      You do not want a burnt offering.
17 The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.
      You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.
18 Look with favor on Zion and help her;
      rebuild the walls of Jerusalem.
19 Then you will be pleased with sacrifices offered in the right spirit—
      with burnt offerings and whole burnt offerings.
      Then bulls will again be sacrificed on your altar.

The Brightest Day

Today we know, no matter what we have done in the past – we can be forgiven through Jesus Christ. 

1 John 1:8-10 (NIV)

8If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. 9If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 10If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 10 - 2 Samuel, 19 - Psalms, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year, Some Lessons Learned and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A very sad day

  1. rseguel says:

    Hi Tim, I would say that I felt the same thing when I read about the life of Kings David and Solomon. But beyond that, the Lord is the only perfect hero and whom we must trust and imitate because all before have failed:
    Romans 3:10-12 NIV
    As it is written:
    “There is no one righteous, not even one;
    there is no one who understands,
    no one who seeks God.
    All have turned away,
    they have together become worthless;
    there is no one who does good,
    not even one.”

  2. joyce geerts-tan says:

    During my “young Christian” days, i studied the life of David, i found unbelief & belief; restraint & unrestrained; gentleness & violence; boldness & fear; humility & pride; selflessness & selfishness, truthfulness & deceit => coexisting in his character. What a fusion & mixture ! David cried out ” create in me a clean heart, wash me thoroughly, search me and try me, cleanse me from my secret sins, keep me back from deliberate sins” Well, later on as i grew more maturely i found that he was a man who was willing to let God lead him to the DEPTHS. Almighty God loves to lead His children through the depth Psalm 106 :9 => He rebuked the Red Sea and also dried up, So He led them through the DEPTHS,….David cried out ;”DEEP calls unto DEEP. Sovereign God knows that these will polish, mature and refine our characters, in addition build a greater capacity within us FOR HIMSELF. What a forgiving, merciful & loving God we have, indeed a blessing to us.

    • plimtuna says:

      Wow! What insight! Thanks for sharing! You must have been paying attention in those early days – great comment and welcome to the blog.

      Plim

  3. Pingback: Trust in Jesus Christ | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  4. Pingback: Darkness Before Dawn | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

