An omniscient God

Today’s Readings:  PSALM 131; PSALM 133; PSALM 138-141; PSALM 143

Today’s post’s reading:  Psalm 139

Time for a confession – I struggle to read Psalms.  Sure I can read one a day.  Maybe even two.  But these last couple weeks of Psalms has been a bit too much for me.  It was even harder being on vacation with my routine thrown out the window.  I am days behind in my reading plan.  I have a lot to catch up.

If you haven’t figured this out yet, I really enjoy the history, the stories, the connections.  Psalms seems disconnected to me, it is kind of plopped right in the middle of the Bible.  Sure, some Psalms can be tied to specific events in history (especially in relation to David).  But they seem to take a one of a few forms – help me from my enemies, You are my refuge, You are an awesome God, woe is me, etc.  Please don’t misunderstand my position.  I know we should praise God.  I know that all the words of the Bible are profitable for us.  I just get less out of Psalms than other people or from other books of the Bible.  My wife loves Psalms, as she has reminded me whenever we get on this topic.

So today, is the first day where I felt back into my routine.  I sat down this morning to have my quiet time.  I decided to read today’s reading first, then go back and catch up.  I really was not excited about reading more Psalms. 

But what I know is that we have a great God, an all knowing God, an all present God, a loving God.

So what does this all knowing, ever present, loving, great God do to me in my Psalm doldrums?  He throws Psalm 139 at me.  How dare He use His Word to excite me and challenge me and to rekindle my love for His Word.  How dare he!

What a great Psalm!

 A Father's Hand Worship Background[1] (2)

Psalm 139

For the choir director: A psalm of David.

1 O Lord, you have examined my heart
      and know everything about me.
2 You know when I sit down or stand up.
      You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.
3 You see me when I travel
      and when I rest at home.
      You know everything I do.
4 You know what I am going to say
      even before I say it, Lord.
5 You go before me and follow me.
      You place your hand of blessing on my head.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
      too great for me to understand!
God even knew that I needed a great Psalm like this one to read today.

God even saw me as I went to Iceland the last couple of weeks.  Even though my vacation schedule kept me from His word, it did not keep Him from me!

This really is knowledge that is too wonderful for me to fully appreciate or understand.

7 I can never escape from your Spirit!
      I can never get away from your presence!
8 If I go up to heaven, you are there;
      if I go down to the grave, you are there.
9 If I ride the wings of the morning,
      if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
      and your strength will support me.
11 I could ask the darkness to hide me
      and the light around me to become night—
12 but even in darkness I cannot hide from you.
   To you the night shines as bright as day.
      Darkness and light are the same to you.

Why would I want to escape? 

This is a blessing not a curse.  At all times my creator is with me.  My Refuge, my Savior, my Shield, my Defender, my Healer, my Alpha, my Omega.

13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
      and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
      Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
      as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
16 You saw me before I was born.
      Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
   Every moment was laid out
      before a single day had passed.
Do you want to know what a creator is?  Here is a perfect example – He knew us from the very beginning.  We were special to him when we did not have a name, or an eye color, even before we breathed our first breath of air.

How can anyone be pro abortion after reading these words?

17 How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
      They cannot be numbered!
18 I can’t even count them;
      they outnumber the grains of sand!
   And when I wake up,
      you are still with me!
How does it make you feel to know that God has thoughts about you?  God is thinking about you and me right now.  So often we think it is one directional, that we think about Him and he has little time to think about us.  But God thinks about you and me!
19 O God, if only you would destroy the wicked!
      Get out of my life, you murderers!
20 They blaspheme you;
      your enemies misuse your name.
21 O Lord, shouldn’t I hate those who hate you?
      Shouldn’t I despise those who oppose you?
22 Yes, I hate them with total hatred,
      for your enemies are my enemies.
Admittedly, I struggle with these verses.  I am hoping that my fellow readers can shed some light on how I am to take these verses today.  Please comment below and help me understand how these verses should be taken in a New Testament world.

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
      test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 Point out anything in me that offends you,
      and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

Ultimately, this is the truth that can help us today, in this world, at this time – your time.  We should allow God to work in our lives.  Are we responding to what He is finding when he searches us and tests us and points things out that offend Him?

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An omniscient God

  1. rseguel says:

    Hi Tim, very nice article. I found this passage in Ephesians that can help us to understand verses Psalm 139: 19-22. In the passage, the Lord teaches us about God’s and our enemies, and how do we have to fight them:

    Ephesians 6:10-18 (NIV)

    10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

    • plimtuna says:

      Ricardo,

      When you place the text in a spiritual battle – as you did with the Ephesians text, yes it makes sense and I can grasp it.

      Where I struggle is taking in context of David writing it. I believe he was specifically thinking about internal and external human enemies. People actively working against the will of God. Sure, today we have those people also, but I believe that the teachings of Christ to love our enemies may rule here.

      This year of reading, more than any other, has led me to really think about the Old Testament and some of the stronger statements that are made towards the enemies of God.

      Great food for thought.

      Tim

  2. Joyce Geerts says:

    Hey Tim,

    First of all welcome back from Iceland to The Netherlands in the lovely name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    God spoke to me personally with this Psalm 139 again and again on 18/7/99, 11/6/00 & 29/9/00 as I was struggling & wrestling with Him & seeking Him as well., pufffffffffffffffffff.

    Today as I read the blog, ha aha ha…….I am refreshed with this Psalm 139.

    NB : I note down the date in my bible whenever God speaks to me.

    Psalm 139 : 19-22 Below is my sharing :

    When there was a presence of wicked, for sure God would naturally remove the wicked. God who sees all wickedness would slay them all.

    1 Peter 1: 16 because it is written, “Be holy, I am holy”

    As David. the child of God found delight in Father God, the holy God always drew near to him, so would he desires to have the wicked ones be completely depart from him – Like Father Like Son.

    When the wicked speaks against God, likewise they speak against David as well, too

    To blaspheme the name of the God !!! What would God do with them? And what would David do with them?

    David hated the enemies came from his sincere heart and enthusiastic for God. David regarded his enemies as these were also God’s enemies. Thus his hatred was a desire of God’s righteous and justice. This was not for his own revenge.

    If we really love God, we will definitely be hurt when the enemies hate Him.

    I am scratching my head and questioning myself : Isn’t it all ok to be angry with those who hate our God ? Of course, yes. On other hand we must bear in mind that it is God’s duty to deal with them not us.

    Not to retaliate or applying the law into our own hands, but with love and praying fervently for our enemies, overcoming wickedness with good. Praise the Lord.

    Rom 12:19 Beloved do not avenge yourselves, but rather give place to wrath, for it is written Vengenance is Mine,”” I will repay ”” says the Lord.

  3. rseguel says:

    Thanks Joyce for these thoughts. I very agree with that conclusion. I would add that we were also enemies of God before we received Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior:
    Romans 5:10 (NIV)
    10For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!

    However, there are other that are enemies of God, enemies of the cross of Christ and their destiny is destruction:

    Philippians 3:18-19 (NIV)
    18For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is on earthly things.

    But, God is Love and Jesus Christ taught us to love our enemies. Therefore, we should pray (as Joyce pointed) leaving everything on God’s hands, asking first for His mercy on those enemies of the cross of Christ (and our enemies) and waiting later for God’s will. We know that the love of the Lord overflows everything, so those enemies would become reconciled and saved like we were reconciled and saved too.

  4. Joyce Geerts says:

    Thanks for sharing your point of views, Ricardo.

  5. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  6. Pingback: In praise of a rebel – Jezus Redt | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

