Not so hidden lessons from our past

Today’s reading:  PSALM 75-78

Today’s Post’s Specific Reading:  Psalm 78

I just spent a couple of weeks with my son in Iceland.  We had a great time.  Posts and pictures from our trip are available here.  We had such a great time that I was trying to figure out how and when I was going to come back to do the trip again.  One of the ideas that came across my mind was that my son and I could come back with his son one day.  Considering that my son is only 15 and still years from marriage, let alone grown children, my planning might be a bit premature.  In addition, if my math is right, I will be in my early 70’s when it is time to make the trip. I am not sure I will be ready for the same trip at that point in my life, but we will see.  In case I am not able to scramble over volcanoes and glaciers in my 70’s we at least have the pictures, posts and videos to share about our historic trip to Iceland.  Most likely it will be the stories that will convey the excitement and joy we had on our adventure.  The stories will teach the history.

In the last 4 1/2 months we have been reading through the Bible in chronological order.  Beginning with the story of Creation we have arrived to the end of the reign of King David.  For the last few weeks we have been reading the Psalms of David and his contemporaries.  But in two days we must move on historically.  We are going to continue our historical journey with the reign of David’s son Solomon.  What we will see from Solomon is a bit different from David in that Solomon will focus on wisdom, while David focused on praise and adoration. 

But before we get to Solomon, we have an opportunity in one of today’s psalms to have a quick review of all that has happened to Israel since they became a people called Israel. 

Why is reviewing history important?

In today’s reading we get this question answered.  Why is it important to review history?  We often hear in the secular world the famous quote “Those who forget history are doomed to repeat it.”  But today we have a more spiritual answer, today we have God’s take on why we should review history and the past.

Psalm 78:1 – 8 (NLT)

 1 O my people, listen to my instructions.
      Open your ears to what I am saying,
    2 for I will speak to you in a parable.
   I will teach you hidden lessons from our past—
    3 stories we have heard and known,
      stories our ancestors handed down to us.
 4 We will not hide these truths from our children;
      we will tell the next generation
   about the glorious deeds of the Lord,
      about his power and his mighty wonders.
 5 For he issued his laws to Jacob;
      he gave his instructions to Israel.
   He commanded our ancestors
      to teach them to their children,
 6 so the next generation might know them—
      even the children not yet born—
      and they in turn will teach their own children.
 7 So each generation should set its hope anew on God,
      not forgetting his glorious miracles
      and obeying his commands.
 8 Then they will not be like their ancestors—
      stubborn, rebellious, and unfaithful,
      refusing to give their hearts to God

We are told:

  • do not hide these stories from our children vs. 4
  • we must tell about the glorious deeds of the Lord vs. 4
  • God commanded us to teach our children these stories vs 5

What benefit do we get by following these commands?:

  1. each generation will be able to tell the next vs. 6
  2. each generation can set its hope anew on God vs. 7
  3. each generation will not forget His miracles or obey His commands vs. 7
  4. each generation will not be stubborn, rebellious and unfaithful, refusing to give their hearts to God vs. 8

Take some time today to read the rest of Psalm 78 to be reminded of the history that we have read these last few months.  Then be prepared to pass it on to the next generation.

 Five generations of mothers and daughters.  Are they passing a history to the next generation?

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms, Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not so hidden lessons from our past

  1. cesar sandoval says:

    Great!!!… Thanks tim!

  2. plimtuna says:

    To Cesar and the others that read this post:

    Wow! How culod you raed a psot wtih so mnay typos? I apologize, my editor failed me once again. Apparently I have missed a paycheck or two. I will resolve it immediately.

  3. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

