I Dream of Jeannie

Today’s Readings:  PSALM 83; 1 CHRONICLES 29:23-25; ; 2 CHRONICLES 1:1; 1 KINGS 2:13-3:4; 2 CHRONICLES 1:2-6; 1 KINGS 3:5-15; 2 CHRONICLES 1:7-13

Today’s Post’s Specific Reading:  1 KINGS 3:5-15;

If you haven’t figured this out yet, I was a Television kid.  Growing up in the 70’s meant I watched a lot of television.  I used to pride myself on being able to tell you what was on each night on each channel.  I watched  TV situation comedies on Chicago’s WGN channel 9 after school, which included some greats and some no so greats:genie bottle

  • Gilligan’s Island – an iconic show
  • Hogan’s Heroes – seems incredible that it ever got made (a comedy about a Nazi prison camp in WWII)
  • Barney Miller – A fun character show in the milieu of a detective squad room
  • The Dick van Dyke Show – my family’s all time favorite – we own the box set of the show
  • I Dream of Jeannie – a particular favorite

I Dream of Jeannie was set with the premise that a US Astronaut while on training finds a magical genie’s bottle rubs it and a genie (Jeannie) pop out to grant him wishes.  Each show was basically the astronaut getting into some kind of problem because his genie (Jeannie) in an attempt to please her master over does it with the magic.  Hilarity ensued.

As an adolescent the idea that I could have a genie who granted me wishes was always worth a few day dreaming moments.  What would I wish for it if happened to me.  Of course we all knew that if we were given three wishes that one of the three wishes had to be for more wishes.  So, you first ask for 100 more wishes, then you ask for the sports car, the $1,000,000, the mansion, that the Cubs win the World Series etc.  Then when you get to your 98th wish (just to make sure you did not mis-count) you ask for another 100 wishes.  Ahhhh, life was so easy as a 13 year watching American situation comedies after school.

Today we reenter a historical narrative as we continue our chronological read through the Bible with the beginning of Solomon’s reign as king of Israel.  One of the first events we read about is the vision/dream Solomon has where God speaks to him and offers to grant one of Solomon’s requests. 

In a tone that is:

  • mindful of history,
  • very reverent of God,
  • humble of self,
  • thinking of others and
  • well reasoned,

Solomon makes his request: 

I Kings 3:5 – 10 (NLT)

5 That night the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream, and God said, “What do you want? Ask, and I will give it to you!”

6 Solomon replied, “You showed faithful love to your servant my father, David, because he was honest and true and faithful to you. And you have continued your faithful love to him today by giving him a son to sit on his throne.

7 “Now, O Lord my God, you have made me king instead of my father, David, but I am like a little child who doesn’t know his way around. 8 And here I am in the midst of your own chosen people, a nation so great and numerous they cannot be counted! 9 Give me an understanding heart so that I can govern your people well and know the difference between right and wrong. For who by himself is able to govern this great people of yours?”

Knowing the story, we remember that God responded well to Solomon’s request:

I Kings 3:11 – 14 (NLT)

10 The Lord was pleased that Solomon had asked for wisdom. 11 So God replied, “Because you have asked for wisdom in governing my people with justice and have not asked for a long life or wealth or the death of your enemies—12 I will give you what you asked for! I will give you a wise and understanding heart such as no one else has had or ever will have! 13 And I will also give you what you did not ask for—riches and fame! No other king in all the world will be compared to you for the rest of your life! 14 And if you follow me and obey my decrees and my commands as your father, David, did, I will give you a long life.”

What a tribute to how David had trained up his son.  No father would be prouder than to have a son respond to such an offer of one wish.  As we read of the history of Solomon and his book of Proverbs we will see how well the Lord blessed Solomon with wisdom.  Even today, 3000 years later we still say that someone is as wise as Solomon.

Genie Bottle Photo Credit:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/rolexpv/ / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 11 - 1 Kings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Dream of Jeannie

  1. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

