A Master Craftsman Named Plimtuna?

Stone CutterToday’s Readings:  1 KINGS 3:16-28; 1 KINGS 5:1-18; 2 CHRONICLES 2:1-18; 1 KINGS 6:1-13; 2 CHRONICLES 3:1-14; 1 KINGS 6:14-38

Today’s Post’s Specific Reading:  2 Chronicles 2:13 – 14

I moved my family to Europe three years ago next month.  We agreed to do it for two reasons.  The first was for the adventure – we were moving to Europe – that in and of itself is an adventure.  Secondly, I was offered a position that I had been working for, I was going to be working with companies across Europe to align Information Technology with business initiatives.  I did the job for about 4 months while we made the move.  My family came over and we immediately took a mini-vacation while we waited for the household goods to arrive.

My first day in the office in Europe with my family fully moved included a special meeting.  The meeting was to tell me that the job I had just moved my family to Europe to take was going away.  The group I had joined to work with was being dissolved.  I began applying and interviewing internally for other opportunities.  Through a variety circumstances I found myself doing the same work I did in the US.  The same work I was trying to get away from.  The same work that bored me 4 years ago.

It is work that is not fully understood or appreciated by others.  It is the type of work that will never win awards, great promotions or bonuses.  But, it is work that is needed.  It is work that I am very good at.  It is work that no one else wants to do.  So, I do it.

Today’s reading is somewhat interesting because it includes some personal correspondence between two kings.  Right in the middle of 2 Chronicles 2 we find a letter from King Solomon to King Hiram of Tyre and the response.  King Solomon is getting ready to build a permanent temple for the House of the Lord.  He is fulfilling the dream of his father King David.  David had prepared others for the day that he (or his son) would call in old favors in order to get the temple built.  In this particular case King Hiram of Tyre had some really nice cedar logs that Solomon needed for the temple.  We see in the letters that both kings are very kind and generous with their respect for each other and the shared history through David.

2 Chronicles 2:11 – 12 (NLT)

11 King Hiram sent this letter of reply to Solomon:

   “It is because the Lord loves his people that he has made you their king! 12 Praise the Lord, the God of Israel, who made the heavens and the earth! He has given King David a wise son, gifted with skill and understanding, who will build a Temple for the Lord and a royal palace for himself.

The next two sentences in the letter are the ones that caught my eye today.

2 Chronicles 2:13 – 14 (NLT)

13 “I am sending you a master craftsman named Huram-abi, who is extremely talented. 14 His mother is from the tribe of Dan in Israel, and his father is from Tyre. He is skillful at making things from gold, silver, bronze, and iron, and he also works with stone and wood. He can work with purple, blue, and scarlet cloth and fine linen. He is also an engraver and can follow any design given to him. He will work with your craftsmen and those appointed by my lord David, your father.

Nearly 3000 years later we are reading about a man, Huram-abi, who was not a prophet, not a king, not a wealthy man, not a martyr, not a judge, not a priest not even the head of a tribe, clan or family.  He was a skilled workman.  He worked with metals, stone and wood.  Oh yeah, he also worked with cloth and fine linen.  He was a skilled workman.  In tomorrow’s reading we will read about some of his fine workmanship and artistry.

He must have been pretty good – later Solomon wrote a proverb that may have been about Huram-abi.

Proverbs 22:29 (NIV)

29 Do you see a man skilled in his work?
       He will serve before kings;
       he will not serve before obscure men

Paul even has some advice for those of us who work for others.

Colossians 3:22 – 25 (NIV) 

22Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. 23Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, 24since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. 25Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for his wrong, and there is no favoritism.

So, whatever you do, be it ICT Compliance, Information Security, wash dishes, sell clothes, mop floors, teach children, study complicated math theory, program software, take care of a family, raise children, nurse others, pastor a church, work with metals, stone or wood – do it with all your heart as though you were doing it for the Lord.  Each of has our role in the world – to honor the Lord and serve others.  Go about it with a joyful heart. 

Photo Credithttp://www.flickr.com/photos/xiaming/

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 14 - 2 Chronicles, 20 - Proverbs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Master Craftsman Named Plimtuna?

  1. Greg M says:

    FYI: Huram-abi, AKA Hiram – was a key figure in the lore of the Masons

    • plimtuna says:

      Wow, I did not know that. You are a fount of information OLD wise one.

      Seriously, thanks for enlightening on that one. I am constantly fascinated by how people can take bits and pieces of the Bible and get goofy with them.

  2. Greg M says:

    Now, as for Plim-Tuna, I believe he is a key figure in the lore of Icelandic navigation, as of last month!

    • plimtuna says:

      I can not take credit for that one. Since we had a 15 year old in the car, we thought it best to keep him engaged, so he was the navigator. I was driver for the first three days, then full time staff photographer.

  3. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

