Great gifts come in small packages

Today’s Post Reading:  Psalm 127 

When I was a kid I had come to the belief that great gifts come in small packages.  By this I mean that if given the option of opening two Christmas presents, one in a large box and one in a smaller box, I would undoubtedly pick the smaller box.  Smaller boxes often meant cash or some kind of electronics.  Big boxes meant clothes or some game that was soon forgotten.  

In 1991 my wife and I got a small present.  It was poorly wrapped.  It was small. It was scary.  The present cost us a lot of physical effort to obtain.  Just thinking and preparing for the gift made my wife sick.  She was so sick that she ended up in the hospital a few times. It was a hard year for my wife.  First of all we were newlyweds.  Secondly, I moved my wife 1500 miles away from her home and family.  I took her for the tropics of Guatemala and moved her in January to the frigid Midwest of America.  To compound the issue, the pending gift created havoc in our lives.  

Of course the gift was a beautiful bouncing baby girl.  She arrived after a very difficult delivery on October 12th.  She took her sweet time coming into the world.  My wife’s labor was 31 hours from 1st call to the doctor to that first cry.   

During the last 18 years, 7 months and 15 days (or so) our daughter has been a joy (ok – not all the time, but most of the time).  She has grown up into a fine young women, who is going to make a nice impact on the world.   

She has mastered how to be a good friend.  She has learned the piano, thus bringing joy to her parents.  She is intelligent and has learned more about how to study than her father ever will.  She knows the Lord and desires to do her best for Him (an even bigger joy for her parents).   

Last night, my 18-year-old poorly wrapped, hard to deliver baby girl graduated from High School.  Her mother, brother and I are very proud of her.  Here are some pictures from last night’s events.  

MR Graduation_family_2  

mr_graduation  

Her plans right now are to go to Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan to begin Pre Medical Studies.  My daughter wants to be a doctor, just like her uncle and cousin.  She is amazed at God’s creation.  The magnificent creation of God in designing man just amazes her.  

Today we read a Psalm of Solomon.  Solomon is more known for his wisdom than his songs, but this song is filled with wisdom.  

Psalm 127 (NLT)  

A song for pilgrims ascending to Jerusalem. A psalm of Solomon.

1 Unless the Lord builds a house,
      the work of the builders is wasted.
   Unless the Lord protects a city,
      guarding it with sentries will do no good.
2 It is useless for you to work so hard
      from early morning until late at night,
   anxiously working for food to eat;
      for God gives rest to his loved ones.  

3 Children are a gift from the Lord;
      they are a reward from him.
4 Children born to a young man
      are like arrows in a warrior’s hands.
5 How joyful is the man whose quiver is full of them!
      He will not be put to shame when he confronts his accusers at the city gates  

My daughter (and my son – who graduates in three years) is a gift from the Lord.  She is a reward from him.  I am joyful for her (and her brother).   

But I could not have had great children, a loving wife and a beautiful home had the Lord not built the house.  Had he not protected us, it would not have worked.  My work is fruitless without His provision.  Our rest comes fromthe Lord, because he loves us.  

In celebration of these 18 years, here are some pictures of my daughter growing up.  

 First day of school pre-kindergarden
First day of school 4th grade.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great gifts come in small packages

  1. Greg M says:

    Congratulations to you and your family Tim. We have a great YFC chapter in GR that I could arrange to make contact with your daughter – let me know

Leave a Reply

