I hate my work, seriously, I hate my work

Today’s Reading:  Proverbs 5:1 – 7:27

Today’s Post’s Reading:  Proverbs 6:6 – 11

resting hands

 

I hate my work

I had a mind clearing realization last night – I really hate my work.  I hate it so much, I almost hope my boss reads this post and decides to do something about it. 

Nearly four years ago I began to hate my work.  I was working on a project that had to be done.  I had the needed knowledge.  I was good at it.  I mastered it and demonstrated that I could do work that no one else wanted to do.  Unfortunately, all those positive things have come back to haunt me.  I am now doing that same work, at a larger scale with more attention.

No one wants to do what I do.  No one wants to even talk with me about what I do.  Everyone walks away when I approach for fear that I will talk to them about what I do.  Everyone tries to avoid doing what I do.  Everyone hates what I do, even me. 

But it has to be done.  If I don’t do it, someone else will have to.  They will not be as skilled or knowledgeable on the subject.  Most likely my company would have to hire external people to do the work at a greater cost. 

Unfortunately when  you hate your work and everyone else hates your work there is little motivation to do your work.  Why do what everyone hates?  Why do what no one appreciates?  Why get up in the morning and go to work?

This Morning’s Prayer

As I have mentioned before, I pray a bit before reading each day’s text.  Today I specifically prayed that God would have a passage in Proverbs that could speak to me about my job situation.  

Did you know that we have a God who answers prayers?  The answers may not always be what we want.  The answers may even be something we dread.  Either way, it is God answering our prayers.

God answered my prayer for a direct message to me today:

Proverbs 6:6 – 11 (NLT)

6 Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones.
      Learn from their ways and become wise!
7 Though they have no prince
      or governor or ruler to make them work,
8 they labor hard all summer,
      gathering food for the winter.
9 But you, lazybones, how long will you sleep?
      When will you wake up?
10 A little extra sleep, a little more slumber,
      a little folding of the hands to rest—
11 then poverty will pounce on you like a bandit;
      scarcity will attack you like an armed robber.

Ouch!  Boy did that one sting.  God answered my prayer alright and it hurts.  I mean it stings big time. 

I spoke recently with my mother about my job situation.  Having grown up in the depression, lived through WWII, a divorce and raising 4 kids on her own, she had distinct insight on my situation.  I had complained that I have been doing a job I hate for three years.  Her response, not one of great sympathy but of keen insight went something like this:

Good for you, I did a job I hated for 20 years.  Deal with it.  Are you feeding the kids and caring for your family?  Good.  Deal with it.  Your choice is to do the job or lose your job.  How will you choose?

I have had to constantly remind myself of this passage these last three years:

Colossians 3:23 (NIV)

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men,

Please do me a favor – pray for me that I can have a better attitude about work and that the work would become more satisfying.

Photo Credithttp://www.flickr.com/photos/sixthlie/3644355457/ 

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 20 - Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I hate my work, seriously, I hate my work

  1. Pingback: Pick 4 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  2. Greg M says:

    I understand. We all want to feel that our work is significant. When I left ministry and moved into a secular job, I felt like you do. I returned to the ministry and it felt great. Unfortunately, if I am honest, I think my primary motivation was to feel significant again, not just because God wanted me back there. I will pray for you. I guess this is another example of how our sense of significance should come from being a child of God, not from a role or career.

    But I do know what you mean and I hope you will find significance in both who you are and eventually what you do.

  3. cesar sandoval says:

    I am praying for you and your family.
    Good bless everybody.

  4. Pingback: I may hate my work, but I love my job | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  5. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  6. rseguel says:

    IMHO, you love your work because it’s a blessing and like a God’s son you’re thankful for that, but you don’t like the way it is challenging you. The problem is not your work. So, you should set a challenge or goal to get in your own work in the short- mid- or long-term; otherwise you will hate it, you will hate your co-workers, you will hate the company and so on. Hate is like yeast.

  7. Pingback: Nations around the world will worship the Lord | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  8. Scott Brickert says:

    Tim,
    I noticed alot of infinitives in there…”everyone”…”no one”. Usually when I hear myself talking like that, it’s a sign I’m painting something a bleaker color that it really is. Not sure about your situation.

    Being thankful in all times for all things has made a big difference for me in similar situations. I once wore a tie for a job I partly liked but mostly did not.

    Have you considered making real plans for your next work situation? In several years your family will be changed quite a bit, possibly lessening your financial responsibilities. If you can save during these intervening years, maybe you could be closer to doing something you’d rather be doing.

    Speaking of which, have you thought about what you’d rather be doing? Is there anything within the company you’d rather be doing? Typically companies want their employees fitting well with their work and gaining satisfaction from it. Maybe you could make a medium range deal with the boss to head in a different direction.

    I’m living in a place I love, that fits well, doing good work and liking many things I do. But there’s no margin for error financially. Some people would probably say I’ve exceeded the margin, and it is an error being here. Take your pick sometimes.

    Here’s a good cowboy poem that might tickle your fancy when the going gets rough:

    Rain on the Range

    When your boots are full of water and your hat brim’s all a-drip,
    And the rain makes little rivers dribblin’ down your horse’s hip,
    When every step your pony takes, it purt near bogs him down,
    It’s then you git to thinkin’ of them boys that work in town.
    They’re maybe sellin’ ribbon, or they’re maybe slingin’ hash,
    but they’ve got a roof above ’em when the thunder starts to crash.
    They do their little doin’s, be their wages low or high,
    But let it rain till hell’s a pond, they’re always warm and dry.
    Their beds are stuffed with feathers, or at worst with plenty straw,
    While your ol’ soggy soogans may go floatin’ down the draw.
    They’ve got no rope to fret about that kinks up when it’s wet;
    There ain’t no puddle formin’ in the saddle where they set.
    There’s womenfolks to cook ’em up the chuck they most admire
    While you gnaw cold, hard biscuits ’cause the cook can’t build a fire.

    When you’re ridin’ on the cattle range and hit a rainy spell,
    Your whiskers git plumb mossy, and you note a mildewed smell
    On everything from leather to the makin’s in your sack;
    And you git the chilly quivers from the water down your back.
    You couldn’t pull your boots off if you hitched ’em to a mule;
    You think about them ribbon clerks, and call yourself a fool
    For ever punchin’ cattle with a horse between your knees,
    Instead of sellin’ ribbons and a-takin’ of your ease.
    You sure do git to ponderin’ about them jobs in town,
    Where slickers ain’t a-drippin’ when the rain comes sluicin’ down.
    It’s misery in your gizzard, and you sure do aim to quit,
    And take most any sheltered job you figger you can git.
    But when you’ve got your neck all bowed to quit without a doubt,
    The rain just beats you to it, and the sun comes bustin’ out!
    Your wet clothes start to steamin’, and most everywhere you pass
    You notice how that week of rain has livened up the grass.
    That’s how it is with cowboys when a rainy spell is hit:
    They hang on till it’s over — then there ain’t no need to quit!

    ~ S. O. Barker

    peace and perseverance-
    Scott

    • plimtuna says:

      Scott,

      Thanks for commenting and adding food for thought.

      Fiirst the good news, things got a little better just after that post and things are even better today. Additionally, my work at our church is of course very rewarding and that is where I get most of my satisfaction. I also get quite a bit of satisfaction from post writing.

      It is true we are approaching a time for adjustments. But I think my event horizon is still at least 7 years away as my son will finish college in 2017, My immediate situation is in flux while integration with the new owner continues.

      BTW – I have reread the post and the use of terms “everyone” and “no one” and I suppose I would still stand by it, it really is that grim – no one wants my work and everyone hates what I do. Seriously. But, it has to be done and I am the one tasked with it for now.

      A bird in the hand is worth more than two in a bush – or as the say here – a bird in the hand is worth more than 10 in the air. (not sure why our ratio is 2:1 and theirs is 10:1 – I am sure their is some pyschological reason).

      Thanks again for reading and sharing.

Leave a Reply

