Pick 4

Today’s Reading:  Proverbs 8:1 – 10:32

Proverbs are great fun.  Over the years as I read them I always find one that jumps out at me.  Maybe it is funny, or extremely true or a perfect comment on the events of that day.  Yesterday’s post “I hate my work, seriously, I hate my work” included verses from Proverbs 6:10 – 11.  I remember first connecting with those verses 28 years ago while I was in college.  I assume that I applied them to my studies back then.  Yesterday I applied them to my work situation.   Proverbs can be fun and enlightening and challenging and renewing. 

Last night at dinner, in preparation for today’s post, I asked my family to read Proverbs 10 and pick the proverb that sticks out to them.  Here are the four choices: 

My wife picked –

Proverbs 10:19 (NIV) 

19 When words are many, sin is not absent,
       but he who holds his tongue is wise. 

I think she picked that verse as a lesson for me.  Often when I get diarrhea of the mouth, I get into trouble.  I know that this is especially true in the midst of a “discussion” or disagreement – tempers flare and words are said that hurt, words that sin. 

My daughter picked –

Proverbs 10:16 (NIV) 

16 The wages of the righteous bring them life,
       but the income of the wicked brings them punishment. 

She said that it reminded her of a key verse in Gospel presentations – Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  I love how my daughter took the truth of one verse in one book of the Bible and related it to another truth in another book of the Bible.  Years of training pays off! 

My son picked –

Proverbs 10:12 (NIV) 

12 Hatred stirs up dissension,
       but love covers over all wrongs. 

When asked to explain or paraphrase the verse my son said something like this:  “Well, hatred kind of stirs up dissension, but love covers over all wrongs.” Ok, so he does not have a solid future in paraphrasing.  But what he lacks in that skill he made up for in scripture memorization.  For this verse is an old one in his life, having memorized it in AWANA years ago. 

We did go on to have a discussion on the definition of the word dissension. It sounds likes descent.  Some we jumped to the term dysentery. I suppose in a stretch those words help us understand the verse.  About this definition from www.reference.com  

dis·sen·sion

1. strong disagreement; a contention or quarrel; discord.2. difference in sentiment or opinion; disagreement. 

 

—Synonyms
1. strife. See quarrel1

I picked –

Proverbs 10:25 (NIV) 

25 When the storm has swept by, the wicked are gone,
       but the righteous stand firm forever. 

This verse jumped out at me as it is extremely applicable to the events around me.  Today I know three families that are going through very rough medical times.  They are all here in the Netherlands.  They all happen to be going to the same hospital 60 miles from here.  All three of them are within 5 years of my age, we are all near the same point in our road on life.  Two of the three families are not religious, church goers or people of faith.  One family is a family of faith.  

I am praying that through this rough time of life this proverb will help remind them that they can get through this “the righteous stand firm forever.” 

You picked –

What proverbs are jumping out at you while you read these days?  Comment below and share them with the rest of us.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 20 - Proverbs, Encouragement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pick 4

  1. Jubin Jacob says:

    Well I am late in the reading plan. Posting this on May 31… :-/ But this passage is a handful!
    Two verses jumped out to me, one of which is the one ummmm… Plim picked. About the other one….
    A good friend of mine lost her mother to cancer just yesterday. I was just meditating on how precious our parents are to us and how we should return that love through obedience and respect.
    Then I open the Bible and I read Prv. 10:1.
    God knows what’s going on in our heads. Praise Him…

    • plimtuna says:

      Jubin,

      What I find fascinating is that not only does God know what is going on in our heads and hearts. But he also knows what is going in the heads and hearts of everyone else. He also knows their names, the numbers of hairs on their heads, their dreams and aspiration, their sorrows and fears, etc….

  2. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

