Are you foolish or wise?

Today’s Reading:  Proverbs 11 – 13

One thing you will notice as you begin to read proverbs is that they are not really categorized.  You can say that Proverbs 11 is about money or Proverbs 12 is about child rearing.  The proverbs seem to jump around a bit. 

Dunce Cap_croppedTherefore, today I took the opportunity to do a bit of sorting.  I took all 84 verses from the three chapters and sorted them.  I saw there where repeating themes.  I counted:

  • 28 verses comparing the wicked and the godly
  • 17 verses on financial matters
  • 15 verses on the topic of personal character
  • 13 verses about how we speak (the tongue)
  • 8 verses on seeking counsel of others
  • 2 verses on being a godly woman
  • 1 verse on raising children

This is a good way for someone to a bit of a Bible study.  Simply take a couple chapters of proverbs, sort out the verses by topics and then study that topic.

The verses on seeking counsel:

Proverbs 11:14 (NLT)

14 Without wise leadership, a nation falls;
      there is safety in having many advisers.

Proverbs 12:15, 23 (NLT)

15 Fools think their own way is right,
      but the wise listen to others.

23 The wise don’t make a show of their knowledge,
      but fools broadcast their foolishness.

Proverbs 13:10, 12, 14, 18, 20 (NLT)

10 Pride leads to conflict;
      those who take advice are wise.

13 People who despise advice are asking for trouble;
      those who respect a command will succeed.

14 The instruction of the wise is like a life-giving fountain;
      those who accept it avoid the snares of death.

18 If you ignore criticism, you will end in poverty and disgrace;
      if you accept correction, you will be honored.

20 Walk with the wise and become wise;
      associate with fools and get in trouble.

I summarized the verses into two categories.  What do wise people do and what do foolish people do:

Fools:

  • Think their own way is right
  • Broadcast their foolishness
  • Ignore criticism and end up in poverty and disgrace
  • Associate with fools and get in trouble
  • Find out that avoiding counsel leads to conflict
  • Avoid counsel and are asking for trouble
  • Avoid counsel and their nation fails

Wise People:

  • Know that there is safety in many advisors
  • Get life giving instructions
  • Seek wisdom
  • Listen to others
  • Don’t make a show of their knowledge
  • Take advice
  • Accept command and succeed
  • Accept correction and will be honored
  • Follow instructions and avoid the snares of death
  • Walk with the wise and get wiser

Reading through those two lists, I can see that I do things from the foolish list.  For example,  I often think my own way is right.  I even avoid counsel from time to time – why?  Because I think my own way is right.  It is a kind of a sin cycle that I need to work on.

Unfortunately, there are also things from the second list that I fail to do.  I don’t always listen to the advice and counsel of others.

My personal lesson for today is that there is definitely room for improvement.  I can strive to try to walk more often with the wise and seek their counsel.  I need to often set my ideas aside and see what others see, others often see better than we do. 

How are you doing on those two lists?  Are you walking with the wise or stumbling about with the foolish?  Are you involving others in counsel or do avoid the counsel of the wise? 

My only fear when I write this blog post is that some friends of mine will read it and then realize that they should stop hanging around with me.  They would be applying Proverbs 13:20.  ;-)   Also, if I stop hanging out with you, maybe I am apply Proverbs 13:20.  If we both walk away from each other then we are in big trouble!

Photo Credithttp://www.flickr.com/photos/davecobb/

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 20 - Proverbs, Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you foolish or wise?

  1. Michael Fuscone says:

    Hi Tim! Wow! I see that you are in Eindhoven, The Netherlands! I also see that you are happily married and have two children! And yes, that is really me who is following you on Twitter!

    Well, I may not be nearly as devoted to the Bible as you are, but I do still believe in God and in Jesus Christ, even through all I have been through. I have a daughter Amanda, who is 19 and lives in Alabama with my first ex-wife Patricia. I was married to my second ex-wife Debra from 1999 to 2008, but had no children with her. Now I am engaged to Dawn, and we are both very happy! And she believes too…

    My parents like Dawn a lot more than either Patricia or Debra. And Dawn and I are very best friends. We talk to each other about anything, and we love, trust, and respect each other. It’s wonderful, and we thank God for bringing us together!

    Well, I’ll stop writing this book… LOL

    One more thing though… one of my favorite chapters in the Bible is 1 Corinthians 13. It always has been, especially 1 Corinthians 13:13 (NIV) “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

    What I do my best to do is to love who I am, because God made me out of love. If I am good enough for God, then He wants me to feel good about who He made me to be. And if I can love who I am in this way, I can love others the way God wants me to as well! If my interpretation of Mark 12:30-31 (NIV) is correct – 30″ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ 31The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.” – then one can truly love others to the extent that one loves oneself, which is why God wants us to love ourselves the way He does. I hope that makes sense…

    Okay… my book is ending now.

    I hope to hear back from you, Tim!

    Sincerely,
    Michael Fuscone

  2. Jose Butsko vanden Brink says:

    Hi ,

    I am agree with you. Шаштв myself also more on the list of the fools than on the listof the wise. I am gratefull that God still give me time to change in His way’s.
    Thank you for the study.

    Greetings from the Ukrain.

    Jose Butsko van den Brink.

Leave a Reply

