Monthly Update – May 2010

Time once again to give you all an update on how the chronological Bible reading and the Blog itself are going.

Reading Plan:  I am very happy to say that wife, daughter and I continue on track.  Admittedly it was a bit difficult while I was on vacation in Iceland.  My son has struggled since the vacation, but he desires to get back on track.  With recent readings we have fully completed 12 books (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 & 2 Samuel, 1 Chronicles Job) plus significant parts of 1 Chronicles and Psalms.  I admit that I struggled a bit in Psalms, too many at once for my liking (see post “An Omniscient God”).

 

Conversation:  This month’s posts did not generate as much conversation as last month’s.  Less than 40 comments.  However, the depth and content of the comments have been very insightful to me.  There are some solid people with solid Bible knowledge following the blog. That is a new encouragement to me.

Some Blog Firsts:  This month saw a few blog firsts. 

  • We had two guest bloggers (Ricardo and Jubin).  They did a fine job in adding to the conversation while I was on vacation.  I am always interetested in more. Let me know if  you are interested.
  • We had more posts than days in the month.  This is mostly due to my double posting while on vacation.  I posted on my Bible reading and on my vacation day by day.
  • We had more than 100 visitors in one day.  On Saturday, May 1st we had 145 visitors.  I am still unsure what caused us to have 4 x’s our average daily views.
     

Blog Growth:  We definitately had a good month.  Page views are up to over 1400 and are growth is still near 50 % each month. 

Blog Stats Through May

 Here are the most frequently viewed posts of the month.

  1. Home page                                                                              303       
  2. Day 3 – On the road again                                                      62              
  3. Iceland 2010                                                                            57              
  4. Our Awesome God                                                                  42              
  5. Day 0 – Three burgers in three countries                           41              
  6. Trust in Jesus Christ                                                               35              
  7. Day 2-One fine day                                                                 34              
  8. Day 1 – two tires at once                                                        34            
  9. Readers of the Word                                                                34        
  10. Day 4 – Missed it by 40 KM                                                  33              
  11. Day 7 – A day of prepositions!                                              32              
  12. Directions to a son                                                                   30          
  13. I hate my work, seriously, I hate my wor                           27         
  14. Day 5– Leaving our mark on Iceland                                  27              
  15. Listen to my voice in the morning, Lord                             27              
  16. Day 8 – Are we going to get candy now?                             26              
  17. Day 6 – Is it fjord or fjör                                                         19              
  18. A Master Craftsman Named Plimtuna?                               19              
  19. Day 9 – Finishing with a bang!                                             19            
  20. An omniscient God                                                                  17           
  21. Who formed these mountains?                                             17          
  22. A Heart After God’s Own                                                   16              
  23. I Dream of Jeannie                                                             14              
  24. Pray Towards this Temple?                                                14              
  25. Advice to the next Supreme Court Justice                       14              
  26. Not so hidden lessons from our past                                14              
  27. I was senseless and ignorant                                           14          
  28. Pick 4                                                                                    14              
  29. More than a fortune cookie filler                               12              
  30. From Every Nation                                                   12                 

I am predicting that our readership (page views) will go down this month. I do not have any exciting trips to the side of a volcano planned.  That trip to Iceland in May was easily 1/3 of our readershiip. 

I am looking forward to the return to solid history with the succession of kings and prohets that we will being to read in just a few days.  There are many stories to be told and lessons to be learned. 

Thanks for reading along with us.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Monthly Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

