I once found a treasure

Today’s Reading:  Proverbs 17 – 19

In 1989 I was 3 years out of college and well established within my ministry within Youth For Christ. I was only 26, but at that time I thought the world was passing me by.  I wanted to be married.  Therefore, as I mentioned in an earlier post “And now for something completely different…”, I began to pray for a wife.  During 1989 I met Elizabeth who gave me the address of her young niece in Guatemala. 

On December 26th, 1989 I sent my first letter to my future wife.  I wrote it in Spanish and it was short.  It went something like this: 

Hello, 

My name is Tim and your cousin Bety gave me your address.  I am hoping that we can become pen pals.  Would you be interested in writing so I could practice my Spanish. 

I look forward to your response. 

Your new friend, 

Tim 

My wife’s sister wrote me back (she signed my wife’s name for her) and that began a series of letters between two friends.  Those letters went back and forth 20 years ago.  That was years before we had e-mail, or chat or internet phones.  Each letter, even though we used couriers, took a week to get to its destination.  

Over the course of that Spring and those snail mails we became very interested one in another.  In May 1990 I invited Lisy to come visit me in Chicago.  She arranged to come visit her cousin Bety and I arranged for my vacation during the same time.  Our plan was to meet as friends as I showed her around “My kind of Town – Chicago.”  

20 years ago last week I got a letter from Lisy telling me that she was coming to visit.  She would arrive on June 26th and would be here for about two weeks.  I anxiously awaited to meet my new pen pal. 

All of this leads me to today’s key proverb.  

Proverbs 18:22 (NLT) 

The man who finds a wife finds a treasure,  and he receives favor from the Lord. 

In honor of our meeting 20 years ago I am going to use some of my blog space to commemorate some of those important dates 20 years ago.  One reason is to show how much God worked.  A second reason is to document the events for our children.  Finally, it never hurts to build up “good husband” points with the wife. 

So, in the days that follow you will occasionally see a post entitled “20 years ago today – June 26th, 1990” or with whichever date is appropriate.  I hope you will read along with me as I tell our tale of how God gave me a treasure to find.  I have also added a page to the Blog entitled “Pv. 18:22” which will contain all the posts. 

My treasure and I at our daughter’s graduation last week

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 20 - Proverbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I once found a treasure

  1. Pingback: Solomon had 699 problems | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  2. Pingback: July 10 – 12, 1990 – Surgery, at last | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a Reply

