3 Strikes and you are out – of proverbs

Today’s Reading;  Proverbs 22 – 24

We have been reading through Proverbs for nearly a week now.  Tomorrow we read the Song of Solomon and then back into the history of the kings of Israel and Judah.  So before we get into that history of turmoil, lets take a quick look at some more proverbs.  Today I picked three that struck out at me as I read.

cash

# 1   Proverbs 23:4-5 (NLT)

4 Don’t wear yourself out trying to get rich. 
      Be wise enough to know when to quit.
5 In the blink of an eye wealth disappears,
      for it will sprout wings
      and fly away like an eagle.

Some great imagery in these two verses.  I was taught very early in my Christian life that we should invest our lives into things that are eternal – like collecting a treasure in Heaven.  As I believe it, there are three things that are eternal – God, His Word, and the souls of people.   People often spend their whole lives getting tired, chasing a dream, a bigger house, a bigger car, a bigger boat, a nicer vacation or just things and they get tired.  In the end, what have they done?  Accumulated things that will pass away.   Why not focus on what is eternal?

fine-dining

# 2 Proverbs 23:6 – 8 (NLT)

6 Don’t eat with people who are stingy;
      don’t desire their delicacies.
7 They are always thinking about how much it costs.
      “Eat and drink,” they say, but they don’t mean it.
8 You will throw up what little you’ve eaten,
      and your compliments will be wasted.

These verses struck out at me for I have actually been in situations like this way too often.  In my previous position I often was wined and dined by vendors trying to sell me services or products.  They would have an approved budget for the meal, they would try to impress and would over order and then realize their mistake and their tone would change.  The whole time they would act as though we were great friends and that we this was not a business meal.  They whole time they are thinking that by inviting me to dinner and being friendly with me they were convincing me to buy their product or service.

Just last week I had a vendor of products in the €250,000 – €2,000,000 range actually say to me “Tim, I am not here to sell you anything.  I am here to build a relationship.” No, he was there to sell me something.  No, I don’t need another relationship – I have a wife and two children and a whole church full of relationships.  Of course he was there to sell me something.  Ok, maybe not day, but his goal is to build up to the sale.  There is not such thing as a free lunch (TINSTAAFL)

honey_comb

# 3 Proverbs 24:13 – 14 (NLT)

13 My child, eat honey, for it is good,
      and the honeycomb is sweet to the taste.
14 In the same way, wisdom is sweet to your soul.
      If you find it, you will have a bright future,
      and your hopes will not be cut short.

What better way to end this one week run through some proverbs than a proverb on the value of wisdom? 

It is often recommended that you read proverbs every day.  Some people read the chapter of proverbs that fall on the day of the month.  For example if today is the 3rd of June then I read Proverbs chapter 3.  If you consider that each chapter has 10 – 20 individual proverbs worth thinking about there is plenty of wisdom to reflect on each day and year. 

I hope you found some real gems in your reading or Proverbs.  I hope you found it tasted sweet like honey.  Most importantly I hope you take an opportunity to apply them in your lives.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 20 - Proverbs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Strikes and you are out – of proverbs

  1. Greg M says:

    Hey, I like that chapter/day idea. I’m going to give it a try. Thanks Tim.

Leave a Reply

