No danger or the fear of danger

Today’s Reading:  Isaiah 8 – 11:16

lion and lamb I have written in the last two posts that I am really excited about where our reading it headed these days.  I am excited to bring the prophetic books intertwined with our historical reading.  So far, with Jonah, Amos and a bit of Micah we have easily understood what the prophets were talking about.

However, things are changing today.  Today we get our first real chunk of Isaiah.  Isaiah is what we call a “Major” prophet.  He has 66 chapters written in his book.  He is the source of many prophecies that have still not come to pass.  Isaiah is the source of many of our prophecies about Jesus as the Christ, the Messiah.  He is in the big leagues of prophets. 

I enter the arena of post writing and major prophets with fear and trepidation.  Who am I to try to fully understand, interpret and apply the prophecies of Isaiah to such an extent that I could write something that others would want to read?  I have not been to divinity school or even Bible college.  I am just a guy who loves studying the Word of God.  I love the history.  I love the connections of one book to another.  I love the connections of a book written 2000 – 3000 years with the events of the world around me.  I love how I can learn more about my God and Savior and how I should live.

So, I will walk softly as these next couple of months of prophecy come our way.  I will not attempt to explain away modern events as evidence of the second coming of the Messiah.  I will not attempt to ascribe the named nations of the end times with current political powers ala Hal Lindsey in the book “The Late Great Planet Earth”.  I will not claim to have knowledge beyond my ability.  I am just a guy who likes reading the Bible.

Today we do run into two passages that I want to draw your attention to.  The first is a prophecy commonly understood to announce the birth of the Messiah.  You can find this prophecy fulfilled in Luke 1:32, 2:11.  I enjoy finding these connections and being reminded that the birth of our Savior was foretold!

Isaiah 9:6 -7  (NLT)

6 For a child is born to us,
      a son is given to us.
   The government will rest on his shoulders.
      And he will be called:
   Wonderful Counselor,[i] Mighty God,
      Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
7 His government and its peace
      will never end.
   He will rule with fairness and justice from the throne of his ancestor David
      for all eternity.
   The passionate commitment of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies
      will make this happen!

A bit later in the passage we come to a prophecy that has not come to pass yet.  It will happen in the future.  We will witness it. It is a time of peace.  I read a few commentaries on this passage and the sentence that stuck out at me.  It said that it will be a time when danger is gone and the fear of danger is gone.  That is so true and encouraging.  Sure, danger can pass, but to be rid of the fear of danger is even better.  Oh for the days when we can live without fear!

Isaiah 11:6 – 9   (NLT)

6 In that day the wolf and the lamb will live together;
      the leopard will lie down with the baby goat.
   The calf and the yearling will be safe with the lion,
      and a little child will lead them all.
7 The cow will graze near the bear.
      The cub and the calf will lie down together.
      The lion will eat hay like a cow.
8 The baby will play safely near the hole of a cobra.
      Yes, a little child will put its hand in a nest of deadly snakes without harm.
9 Nothing will hurt or destroy in all my holy mountain,
      for as the waters fill the sea,
      so the earth will be filled with people who know the Lord.

Aren’t there great word pictures in that passage.  Can’t you picture peace?  Can’t you picture a time when danger and the fear of danger are no longer present?  I can. 

Let’s read through these prophecies looking for the simple truths of God.  I am not going to reinvent the wheel or determine the date of the Lord’s return.  I just want to enjoy His word.

Picture Credithttp://animals.desktopnexus.com/wallpaper/77410

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

