July 1 – A napkin from the best pizza place in Chicago

If you have ever met anyone from Chicago, you know we are a proud people.  We are proud of our skyscrapers, sports teams, diverse neighborhoods, lakefront and most of all our deep dish pizza.  If you have never had Chicago Style deep dish pizza then I guess we would say that you have not really lived yet.

The best place in Chicago to deep dish pizza is Pizzeria Uno.  Please note I am not talking about the chain that bought the right to use the name, but the actual Pizzeria Uno on 29 E. Ohio.  They make a great pizza that has a deep pan crust, topped with cheese then veggies and then the sauce.  It takes at least 45 minutes to bake the pizza and there is always a line to get a table.  I have been eating these pizzas since I was a child in the early 1970’s (which explains a lot if you know me).  Whenever I have friends come to visit or I am showing someone the best of Chicago I take them there.Pizzaria Uno

After my rough Saturday thinking about how I was going to break up with Lisy I thought it would be a great idea to take Lisy out for some deep dish Chicago Pizza.  (For more on what I was thinking, read yesterday’s post entitled June 30, 1990 – It’s over, what a mistake.)  I decided that maybe a great slice of pizza would smooth over our pending breakup. Pizzeria Uno Pizza

Lisy returned from her weekend away to visit family in Onarga, Illinois.  I picked her up late on Sunday afternoon and we headed downtown.  Of course we had to wait for a table but it was OK, it gave us a chance to reconnect and to discuss how her weekend went.  While we were sitting there I decided that I had to share one more time about my faith.  I had tried earlier and had been disappointed to find out that we were not of the same mind on the subject.

While we sat there waiting I talked about how I came to my faith as a freshmen in college in 1981.  I shared about how I had realized that I was screwing things up.  I shared how I realized that God did exist and that I needed His forgiveness.  I talked about a personal relationship.  I did not talk about a denomination or a rite or an act that made one a Christian .  I talked about a saving personal relationship based upon the forgiveness that came from Christ’s death on the cross and His resurrection on Easter morning.

After about 30 minutes we were seated right in the middle of a crowded dinning room.  We ordered and continued our conversation.  I decided to dig into my Navigators’ training and drew out the Bridge Illustration on a napkin.  I explained to Lisy about how man’s sin prevent us from being with God and that only through Jesus is it even possible to experience God’s love and forgiveness.

Bridge Napkin

Lisy seemed very interested, but the circumstances of a crowded restaurant, a delicious pizza only getting colder shut down our conversation on faith.  We enjoyed our pizza paid our bill and headed back to Berwyn.

When we got back to Lisy’s place we parked a few doors down and sat in the car to talk.  We talked about the relationship I had with Jesus and the confidence I had in eternal life.  Lisy shared with me that she was also interested.  She shared how she had never heard anyone talk about God as if they knew Him.  Apparently, I spoke as though I spoke to God every day (which I did in prayer).  Lisy asked how she could have that same relationship and confidence.

I shared with her a prayer where she could acknowledge her need for forgiveness, accept what Jesus did for her on the Cross and accept God into her life.  She prayed with me at that very moment.  Wow!  I was blown away.  Lisy came to her faith decision and I did not even threaten to abandon our relationship ( I had chickened out).  Lisy came to Christ on her own without a fear of losing our relationship.  It was of her and of God.

We talked a bit more and prayed about our relationship.  We decided to call it a night and I walked her home.  We had a big day planned for tomorrow.  We were going to go to Six Flags Great America amusement part.  We were going to take Bety’s three sons with us.  I was excited because I was going to take Lisy on my favorite rollercoaster – The American Eagle.

Tomorrow – July 2, 1990 – What a great rollercoaster – ouch!

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Proverbs 18:22 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

