June Update + 2 days

New Features

I wanted to take this update space to remind you of a few features of the blog site.

Links:  to the right of the blog page is a list of helpful Bible study links.  The various Bible in a year reading plan links are there.  This month I have added two sites that I have found helpful lately.

www.biblios.com or www.bible.cc This is a free site run by volunteers where they have gathered together as many tools as possible to aid you and I in our Bible study.  Enter a verse and the Greek or Hebrew is a click away.  Cross References, commentaries, parallel versions of the same passage are all easily gotten to with one click.

www.easyenglish.info This is a site dedicated to provide Bible study aid and commentary using a simpler English vocabulary.  Great resource for English as Second Language students of the Bible.

New Page: PV. 18:22 – I added this page in June.  It is a page dedicated to a time 20 years ago when I first met my lovely wife.  As each special event in that wonderful summer passes I write and additional part of our story.  There you can follow the soap opera that was the summer of 1990.

Readers of the Word:  Sure, it is an old page.  It has been around for over three months.  I am always looking for more people to want to post their picture here to join in the celebration of reading of God’s Word.  Send me your picture and join the celebration.

Stats and Numbers

Site visit wise we are down this month.  Only 725 page visits this month.  Last month we had over 1400 visitors.  I believe last month was an anomaly as my posts on Iceland were quite popular.  Sad thing for me is that more people were interested in my visit to the land of fire and ice than my posts about God’s Word. 

Since my commitment to sharing my reading through of the Bible in a year was not about numbers and more about encouraging others, I am not too upset about the downturn in stats.  If a few more people each month read the Bible, then I have been successful.

Most Popular Posts

For a long time I have offered the opportunity to rate each post (at the bottom of each post).  Until this month the vote accumulator had not worked.  Now it works and you can see on the right of the blog the most popular post for each day, week, month and all time.  Since only a few people vote (mainly family members I am guessing – since I seem to get a lot of 5 star votes), the ratings mean little today.  Please take the time to vote for your favorite posts.  Please vote honestly,  I do not need praise, I need constructive criticism.  I have seen a few posts a day or two later that I would only give two stars to – but my votes don’t count.

Here is this month’s most popular posts (as voted):

  • I may hate my work, but I love my job 5/5 (4 votes)
  • 3 Strikes and you are out – of proverbs 5/5 (3 votes)
  • Should we read Song of Solomon? 5/5 (3 votes)
  • What should I pray? 5/5 (3 votes)
  • Am I my brother’s keeper? 5/5 (3 votes)
  •  

    Most Popular Posts the last Month

    See any you missed?

    Title Views
    Home page 169
    June 26, 1990 – The First Day of the Rest of my Life 26
    Should we read Song of Solomon? 26
    The Letter 25
    What should I pray? 24
    Solomon had 999 problems 23
    Iceland 2010 22
    God Appointed ! 21
    Pop Music Trivia 19
    In Praise of a Book – Hosea 18
    Can relics raise the dead? 17
    June 27 – 29, 1990: Slow down, you move too fast 17
    Going to hell in a hand basket 17
    Solomon had 700 wives 17
    The Times They are a Changing 16
    3 Strikes and you are out – of proverbs 16
    Am I my brother’s keeper? 15
    Readers of the Word 15
    June 30, 1990 – It’s over, what a mistake 15
    Making the Truth attractive – at work 14
    No danger or the fear of danger 14
    But they did what was evil in the Lord 13
    dark is light and light is dark 11
    God has a long memory, or does He? 11
    History in Action 11
    I once found a treasure 10

    About plimtuna

    I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
    This entry was posted in Monthly Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    