I Admire your Gift

Reading Today:  Psalm 84

NormSign

One of my heros

There are a few skills and gifts that I admire.  I look at what others do and sigh, wishing I could do what they do.  If you have known me prior to my time here in the Netherlands you would have known that I really admired the gifts (and tools) of one man.  Norm Abram – master craftsman.

I first admired Norm all the way back in 1979.  He was the quiet carpenter/builder on a Public Broadcasting series called “This Old House.” There was a host on the show (Bob Vila) who did most of the talking and camera work, but when Bob needed a confident answer on a tough remodeling question he went to Norm.  Norm soon became my hero.

Norm soon became famous as a great restorer of old homes.  He eventually had his own program The New Yankee Workshop where he made modern reproductions of older New England furniture.  He is a true craftsman and a fine example of quiet strength and wisdom.  He is still on This Old House today, 31 years later.

I admired Norm’s gift that each week I recorded his shows to watch and re-watch.  I ordered drawings of his furniture to see if I could recreate them.  I even had a signed photo of Norm on my workbench in the basement.

Unfortunately, due to a lack of patience, skill and proper tools I will never become the master craftsman that Norm is.  I can only admire him for his dedication to his craft / art.

What does Norm have to do with Psalm 84.  OK – hang on – you are going to get a rare glimpse into my mind.  I read Psalm 84 and was reminded of a song we sing at church.  The song comes right from Psalm 84. 

Psalm 84:1 – 2, 10 (NLT)

1 How lovely is your dwelling place,
      O Lord of Heaven’s Armies.
2 I long, yes, I faint with longing
      to enter the courts of the Lord.
   With my whole being, body and soul,
      I will shout joyfully to the living God.

10 A single day in your courts
      is better than a thousand anywhere else!
   I would rather be a gatekeeper in the house of my God
      than live the good life in the homes of the wicked.

Does the Psalm remind you of a song from church?  “Better is one day” by Chris Tomlin?

How lovely is
Your dwelling place
Oh Lord Almighty,
For my soul longs
And even faints
For You
Oh, here my heart
Is satisfied (is satisfied)
Within Your presence
I sing beneath
The shadow of
Your wings

Better is one day in Your courts
Better is one day in Your house
Better is one day in Your courts
Than thousands elsewhere
Better is one day in Your courts
Better is one day in Your house
Better is one day in Your courts
Than thousands elsewhere
(Than thousands elsewhere)

What amazes me and what I admire in both of these men is that they take something they are passionate about and can produce something admirable.  Norm does it in furniture and Chris in Songs.  Norm’s work is of temporal quality and Chris’ is of an eternal quality.  But either way, they can see something and create with it and make something great with it.

I admire their skills.  I wish I could do what they do.  Chris Tomlin is really doing something that the Descendants of Korah did when they wrote Psalm 84 (and Psalms Psalms 42; 44; 45; 46; 47; 48; 49) they were praising the Lord.

2 Chronicles 20:19 (NLT)

19 Then some Levites from the Kohathites and Korahites stood up and praised the LORD, the God of Israel, with very loud voice

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Admire your Gift

  1. Jubin says:

    I especially love the part of the Psalm that says: ‘blessed is the man whose strength is in You, whose heart is set on pilgrimage’. It pronounces a blessing on all those people having hearts with purpose and direction – whose lives are going somewhere in the Lord…

    • plimtuna says:

      Great Catch – I like the interpretation that a pilgrimage is a heart with purpose and direction – lives going somewhere in the Lord.

      Thanks for sharing…

      Plim

Leave a Reply

