Jesus Christ the right and only way

Today’s post comes from Ricardo Seguel.  Ricardo and I met in Eindhoven, Netherlands even though Ricardo and his lovely wife come from Santiago, Chile.  Ricardo has been a faithful reader of this blog and he wanted to give some input into our dialog.  Please take a moment after reading Ricardo’s post to encourage him through your comments below.

Here is Ricado’s post:

________________

Today’s Reading:  Psalm 1

We are always confronted with decisions in our daily life.  It seems that as we grow up we have to make more complicated decisions.

When I was a child I didn’t have to decide too much because my mother told me what I had to do: wake up, brush my teeth, have breakfast, go to school, do homework before playing, and so on.  However, being a child I decided which game to play with or which cartoons to watch on TV.

Some years later, when I was an adolescent I wanted to make more decisions. I didn’t want my parents to tell me everything that should I do.

I remember that once I had to decide if I should go to play a football game with my friends or go to a church service. Thank God I preferred to attend the church service and while I was there I received the wonderful teaching of Psalm 1.

God through this teaching showed me that every decision that I have to make is always reduced to two ways: one right and one wrong.

If this is important for our daily life, how much important is it for our spiritual life?

Psalm 1

1 Blessed is the man
who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
or stand in the way of sinners
or sit in the seat of mockers.

2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night.

3 He is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither.
Whatever he does prospers.

4 Not so the wicked!
They are like chaff
that the wind blows away.

5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

6 For the LORD watches over the way of the righteous,
but the way of the wicked will perish.

By God’s mercy, I was born into an evangelical family. I grew up being taught about the way of the righteous and the way of the wicked. However, like any other adolescent, I got confused. I got confused because everything that is good and right according to the Holy teachings, actually is considered old and not in the fashion by the world and of many of my so called friends. Nowadays, the world paints everything wrong as good and everything good as foolish; just take a look in the news an you will see that.  It’s the world upside down.

I was 15 when Jesus appeared in my life and I accepted and recognized Him as my Lord, Savior and best friend.  Jesus dissipated my confusion and showed me that He is the right way and the only way to go to our heavenly Father. Jesus changed my sadness into joy, my uncertainty into trust, and my doubts into faith. Jesus became my all.

Jesus Christ is the right and only way:

“I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6 NIV).

When I was a child I was walking in my human way to follow Jesus, but when I accepted Him as my Lord and Savior He took my hand and I started to walk with Jesus.

If I’m in a trial or struggle, He squeezes my hand and I remember that He is walking with me.  If I feel defeated, He takes me in his arms and He comforts me and gives me new energy to go ahead. Why, because I am walking with him.

Walking with Jesus Christ means that we are blessed; blessed as those that don’t walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers (Psalm 1:1).

Jesus gives us the right advice through his Holy Word to walk in the right way. He has established his church so that we can meet with our brothers and sisters, meet to praise His love and learn of His Word.

Walking with Jesus Christ means that we love His Word and we meditate on it day and night (Psalm 1:2).
God has said:

Joshua 1:8 NIV

“Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful”

And in the gospel of Matthew Jesus said:

Matthew 6:33 NIV

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well”

Therefore, by meditating on the Word of God day and night we guard away a precious spiritual treasure to be prosperous in Him.  If we have spiritual prosperity, then we will overcome our moral and material poverty and we will be able to yield to the fruits of the Spirit.

Since we accepted Jesus Christ as our savior and Lord, we received His Holy Spirit and we were planted by streams of water to yield fruit in season (Psalm 1:3).

What are these fruits? These are the fruits of the Holy Spirit:

Galatians 5:22-23 NIV

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

Nevertheless, the wicked are poor and do not bring fruit, they are like chaff that the wind blows away (Psalm 1:4).

The Lord knows the way of those that walk with Him (Psalm 1:6) and He protects them.  He has prepared a place for those that continue walking with Him and are prosperous in Him and bring much fruit:

John14:1-4 NIV

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

However, the wicked will not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous (Psalm 1:5) since their way will perish (Psalm 1:6).

Jesus Christ is the right and only way.  He is patiently waiting for you, looking at you and always offering His love, His forgiveness and salvation.  He is offering His lovely hand to walk with you and never let you alone.

If you accept Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, your life will change: you will walk with Jesus Christ by the right way and you will be as a tree planted by streams of water to yield fruit in season.

The Lord is mighty to save, He is waiting for you.

God bless you.

About rseguel

www.ricardoseguel.com
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Guest Posters, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus Christ the right and only way

  1. Joyce Geerts says:

    It is really a great reminder, timely refreshing to my mind after my work today thus prompted me to reflect on His way, His nature, His mind and His attributes.

    Let’s delight in Him more and more through our daily walk with Him.

  2. Jubin Jacob says:

    I really like the statement on ‘spiritual prosperity’. I guess it is consistent spiritual growth that creates the solid platform for us to deal with our moral and financial struggles. Surely we have a God who heals, forgives and provides.

    Thanks for the encouraging post, Ricardo!

Leave a Reply

