July 10 – 12, 1990 – Surgery, at last

On July 5th I was told that I needed to have surgery the next morning to remove a tumor (July 5, 1990 – Wow! that is a steep drop!).  I balked at the idea – When a man has plans, he has plans.  Instead of going into surgery on July 6th I drove with my fiancé Lisy down to Peoria to visit my Spiritual parents ( July 8, 1990 – Our Spiritual Parents ).   On Monday, July 9th I taught a class at Youth for Christ’s annual new staff training. Now that I had cleared my schedule I had time for the urgent surgery.

The four days between the need for surgery and the actual surgery were great.  They were filled with conversations with friends and family.  Prayers were being said at just about every opportunity.  But most of all I enjoyed introducing my new fiancée to my world.  I once found a treasure and I was showing her off.  Can you imagine what was going on in Lisy’s head these days?  In less than two weeks, Lisy had done the following:

  • come to the US for her first visit
  • met me as a five month pen pal
  • fallen in love with me
  • accepted Christ as her Lord and Savior
  • Got engaged
  • found out her future husband had a tumor that had to be removed
  • met all of his weird (but God loving) friends.

The day of surgery arrived, just prior to going in we had a word of prayer with a pastor from my church.  The surgery went fine and I was out in a few hours.  Just my mother, Lisy and a pastor visited the first day.  More prayers, more time to reflect.

On Wednesday, July 11 more friends came to visit.

On Thursday, July 12th the pathology report comes.  I had a 95 % chance that the tumor was cancerous.  The plans for chemo therapy were in place.  Lisy and I had resigned ourselves to a very rough beginning of a engagement.  But God had other plans.  God had worked it out so that the tumor was not cancerous.  No chemotherapy was going to be needed. No further treatments.  Jesus, the Great Physician, had worked it all out.  The faithful prayers of God’s loved ones had been answered. 

While this verse is a promise of God to the people of Israel it is one that comes to mind for this occasion.

Jeremiah 29:11 – 14a (NLT)

11For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14I will be found by you,”

Our roller coaster of a first two weeks continued.  We had just come out of a big dip, a steep valley and now we were climbing up a glorious hill.  Lisy and I went through the time together.  We survived and prospered was this the foundation of a beautiful way of life?

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Proverbs 18:22 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 10 – 12, 1990 – Surgery, at last

  1. Jubin Jacob says:

    You have a love story that is definitely is worth sharing. God bless you and Lisy.

  2. plimtuna says:

    Jubin,

    Thanks for the kind words. It is a story based upon a joint decision to put God first in the marriage. It is not always easy and it is not always peaceful. But it is one that contineus and grows and flourishes.

    Thanks for your support.

    I pray the Lord does the same for you one day.

    Plim

  3. Phaedra says:

    I tell this story often. It has so many “lessons” and great truths about hope and trust. The early days of your and Lisy’s relationship always make me feel good as they are a reminder of your strength in Christ and Lisy’s love and trust in you.
    On a different note, I think this story is an example of celebrating those who seek treatment in the early days of an illness/lump. We don’t do that enough – celebrate those who didn’t have cancer because they got the care when it was most effective.
    Thanks for being an example to me, for these past 20 years (plus the previous 25).

    • plimtuna says:

      Thanks for your words. We are not a perfect couple, just one trying to make it work through Christ’s power.

      I also should not get credit for the early find on the tumor. It was bruised and was incredibly painful. I just went for help with the pain. I never thought it was a tumor.

Leave a Reply

