A look into me

Today’s Reading:  Isaiah 40:12 – 31

To some of you when you read my blog posts it may make perfect sense.  You know me and you can see who I am coming out in my posts.  They appear to be a reflection of me.   I suppose I don’t do that on purpose, but I completely understand that my post reveal a lot about me. 

 To others of you, you may know from where I come.  You may ask yourself why is he even bothering to write these posts?  What motivates Plimtuna?  What makes a guy like Plimtuna tick?  When we dig deep inside what will we find?

Typically, this is where I would write some joke like, “Deep down inside you are going to find Chicago Deep Dish Pizza.” or “Deep down inside you will find a really large small intestine.” 

But part of today’s reading stuck me profoundly.  As I read it I was internally cheering saying “yes, I believe that.”  “ Yes, that is so true.” “Yes, that summarizes things well.” “yes, yes, yes.”

I am specifically talking about Isaiah 40:12 – 31.  I do my daily reading from the New Living Translation and the title for this section is “The Lord has no Equal.”   Wow – that is so true.  Isaiah then goes on to give a series of statements to make this point stand out.  The Lord has no Equal.

Some great snippets, all from Isaiah 40.

12 Who else has held the oceans in his hand?
      Who has measured off the heavens with his fingers?
   Who else knows the weight of the earth
      or has weighed the mountains and hills on a scale?
13 Who is able to advise the Spirit of the Lord?
      Who knows enough to give him advice or teach him?
14 Has the Lord ever needed anyone’s advice?
      Does he need instruction about what is good?
   Did someone teach him what is right
      or show him the path of justice

Here is a real good passage against making idols of God:

18 To whom can you compare God?
      What image can you find to resemble him?
19 Can he be compared to an idol formed in a mold,
      overlaid with gold, and decorated with silver chains?
20 Or if people are too poor for that,
      they might at least choose wood that won’t decay
   and a skilled craftsman
      to carve an image that won’t fall down!

I love the pleading, as though Isaiah was talking to a fool that doubts God’s existence:

21 Haven’t you heard? Don’t you understand?
      Are you deaf to the words of God—
   the words he gave before the world began?
      Are you so ignorant?

26 Look up into the heavens.
      Who created all the stars?
   He brings them out like an army, one after another,
      calling each by its name.
   Because of his great power and incomparable strength,
      not a single one is missing.

28 Have you never heard?
      Have you never understood?
   The Lord is the everlasting God,
      the Creator of all the earth.
   He never grows weak or weary.
      No one can measure the depths of his understanding.

Finally the chapter ends with an encouragement to you and I:

29 He gives power to the weak
      and strength to the powerless.
30 Even youths will become weak and tired,
      and young men will fall in exhaustion.
31 But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
      They will soar high on wings like eagles.
   They will run and not grow weary.
      They will walk and not faint.

So, if you want to know me, if you want to know what makes me tick – then reread the chapter and believe everything you read.  I believe and I think it is what makes who I am today.

Photo Credit:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/spiritless/2150870925/

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 23 - Isaiah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

