The Coming Dawn

 

Today is a good day, in that today I caught up on my reading plan.  At one point I was nearly 2 weeks behind in my reading.

A Long Dark Night

From my recent Iceland Trip

The last four weeks has seen very little activity on the blog One Year, One Book, Many People.  Due to a combination of vacation, increased workload and being very behind on my reading plan I have had little time to write.  In addition, the reading lately has been a bit dark and dreary.  How much can you say about prophets predicting the exile of Judah and the punishment of its neighbors?  It seems as though it has been a long dark night.

Nonetheless, the dawn is coming.  A new light is going to be coming into our reading and into the history of the Chosen People of God.   We are 11 days away from Matthew, Mark, Luke and John chapter 1.  Those chapters begin with the genealogy and birth of Christ. 

A Coming Light

While our current readings can be a bit overwhelming and discouraging, there have been and will be more glimmers of hope and light on the horizon.

John 1:1 – 9 (NIV)

1In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2He was with God in the beginning.

3Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. 4In him was life, and that life was the light of men. 5The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.

6There came a man who was sent from God; his name was John. 7He came as a witness to testify concerning that light, so that through him all men might believe. 8He himself was not the light; he came only as a witness to the light. 9The true light that gives light to every man was coming into the world.

In the post exilic prophecies that we have been reading recently are some messianic prophecies of the coming light.  They have been rays of light shining through the darkness…

Zechariah 9:9 (NIV)

9 Rejoice greatly, O Daughter of Zion!
       Shout, Daughter of Jerusalem!
       See, your king comes to you,
       righteous and having salvation,
       gentle and riding on a donkey,
       on a colt, the foal of a donkey.

Zechariah 12:10  (NIV)

10 “And I will pour out on the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem a spirit of grace and supplication. They will look on  me, the one they have pierced, and they will mourn for him as one mourns for an only child, and grieve bitterly for him as one grieves for a firstborn son.

Ezekiel 37:26-27 (NIV)

26 I will make a covenant of peace with them; it will be an everlasting covenant. I will establish them and increase their numbers, and I will put my sanctuary among them forever. 27 My dwelling place will be with them; I will be their God, and they will be my people.

Malachi 3:1 (NIV)

1 “See, I will send my messenger, who will prepare the way before me. Then suddenly the Lord you are seeking will come to his temple; the messenger of the covenant, whom you desire, will come,” says the LORD Almighty.

Hang in there

Just like the exiled Jews – hang in there.  If you have fallen behind, try to catch up.  Especially if you want to read blog posts that align with your reading.  I am anticipating that our reading in the New Testament will give me much to write about.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Coming Dawn

  1. John Bax says:

    Good to hear from you.

  2. plimtuna says:

    Glad to be back. Hopefully, I will be able to keep up the pace of last Spring when I would only miss one a week.

Leave a Reply

