You clothed me with skin and flesh

Today’s reading:  Job 8 – 11

baby5mosToday we continue in the dialog between a miserable, tired and depressed Job and his well intentioned, somewhat uniformed friends.  Both sides often share valid and true aspects of God and his character.  I read the arguments that are going back and forth and think, “OK, now we are getting somewhere good.” Then a few verses later we get some confusion or misstatement about God.

But today, we hit a solid truth right in the middle of Job chapter  10. 

Job 10:8 – 12 NLT

8 “‘You formed me with your hands; you made me,
      yet now you completely destroy me.
9 Remember that you made me from dust—
      will you turn me back to dust so soon?
10 You guided my conception
      and formed me in the womb.
11 You clothed me with skin and flesh,
      and you knit my bones and sinews together.
12 You gave me life and showed me your unfailing love.
      My life was preserved by your care.

Within the Book of Job this passage reinforces that Job knows God and knows of God’s role as creator of all.  It is these glimpses of wisdom that Job has that helps us see that he is not some miserable person, but a man of God going through a miserable time.

But within the greater story of our lives – this passage reminds you and I of who God is – our creator.  It also reminds us of the value of the baby that grows in a woman.  It reminds us that the child is not a mere piece of tissue as some would lead you to believe.   It is a child, wonderfully created by God. 

In the United States, this coming Sunday is called “Sanctity of Human Life Sunday”.  It is a day when churches across America recognize the value, of created human beings.  They especially recognize the sanctity of the life in the womb. 

The date of the Sanctity of Human Life Sunday is tied to the Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision of 1973.  That particular decision that basically legalized abortions in the whole USA began a sad period in which more than 48 million babies have been aborted.  48 million is the entire country of the Netherlands multiplied by 3!.

Psalm 139:13 – 14 NIV

13 For you created my inmost being;
   you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
   your works are wonderful,
   I know that full well.

 

Take a moment today to thank God for his creation of you, from the moment of conception.  Then take another moment and pray that people will realize God’s role in their lives and the lives of others, even in the womb.

Some statistics on abortion in the USA

4D ultrasound pictures of babies in the womb

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

