Please taste my words! Please!

Today’s Readings:  Job 12 – 14

DSC09055

The challenge of writing a blog post ever day this year is a challenging one.  I almost missed today.  Today we had a mini Thanksgiving since last November the four of us were in three different countries.  It was the first time we had been apart for Thanksgiving in 20 years.  So, in the midst of shopping, cooking and eating turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, green bean casserole (we forgot to buy crispy onions for the topping Sad smile )  and carrot cake I almost forgot to write a blog.

So, just before dozing off in my recliner in front of the television I realized I had not written yet today.  So, like a grown man, I got up from my comfy recliner, moved over to the computer to write today’s blog. 

As I read the passage for today these verses jumped out at me.

Job 12:11 -12

11 The ear tests the words it hears
      just as the mouth distinguishes between foods.
12 Wisdom belongs to the aged,
      and understanding to the old.

There are two ideas in the two verses. I will hit the second idea first.

Wisdom and understanding belong to the old.  I am only 47 and sometimes I feel old.  I have a bad back and sore Achilles tendon, that when they act up, make me feel old.  When I see how much energy my daughter has (think of a super ball bouncing off the walls in a small room), I feel old.  But then there are other times like when I meet senior saints of the faith when I feel really young, like a kid just out of school.  For example, when I am around my dear friends Rich and Kay, who are in their early 70’s I feel like a child.  They have such maturity, wisdom, understanding, patience and love.  The verse (Job 12:12) really reminds me of them.  I wrote a post about them last year… July 8, 1990 – Our Spiritual Parents.

Nonetheless, my main thoughts today have been on the verse in Job 12:11. The idea is that we listen to things and test them out, just like our mouths checks out if food is good or not.  If the food is not good, we toss it out.  Tonight my turkey was fantastic, but the gravy was too salty.  I tested it, advised the others and moved on.  Fortunately for us, the turkey was so flavorful and moist that we did not need the gravy.

But that is how I want you to treat my blog posts.  Test them.  Taste them.  If they taste bad – spit them out.  Tell me – was the post too salty, too dry, too wrong?  Did I speak truth, did I misspeak?  Did I distort scripture or did I hit the nail on the head.  Taste the post, if it is delicious and worth a second helping, then tell others.  If not, run away. 

I hold no special degree or certificate or blessing from God to write these posts.  I am just a guy like you who happens to want to encourage others to read their Bibles, so I write these posts to try to take the Word and apply to our lives today.  So, if I goof up once in awhile, let me know.  Taste it, listen to it and if doesn’t taste or sound right, spit it out.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please taste my words! Please!

  1. Greg M says:

    Great lesson from life, Tim. I can identify – and by the way, I can ship you some of those Durkee onion rings for your next feast.

    Your posts are tasty. They are like dining at someone’s home and enjoying the way they vary their recipes from how you prepare them. Some of them inspire me to ask, “where did you get that idea?”; others make me ask “where the heck did you get that idea?” But regardless, too salty, too bland or just right, they are a blessing to me as I walk with Him.

  2. plimtuna says:

    Thanks Greg – as one of the senior saints 😉 in my life I appreciate your support.

    As for the crispy onions, we had no excuse not to buy them. They are a condiment in indonesian food, which is very popular here. You can buy 1 lb bags of them for the price you would pay for that 3 oz. container of Durkee onions in the USA.

Leave a Reply

