You have got to love consistency

Today’s Reading:  Job19 – 21

I really am committed to the idea that reading the through the whole Bible is valuable.  Too often we read only the New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs.  They even sell books that only contain those three sections.  I have always felt that it is a shame.

In addition to reading the whole Bible I am committed to the idea that you should read through the Bible chronologically so that you get a better grasp of the history, flow and continuity of the Bible.  Today’s passage had a few verses in it that really reminded me of how much continuity and consistency there is in the whole Bible.

Consider these verses:

25 “But as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives,
      and he will stand upon the earth at last.
26 And after my body has decayed,
      yet in my body I will see God!
27 I will see him for myself.
      Yes, I will see him with my own eyes.
      I am overwhelmed at the thought!

Can you tell me where in the Bible they are from?  I could hear King David saying this.  I could also hear the Apostle Paul saying something like this.  How about one of the prophets?  Isaiah? Daniel?  Any one of many different persons from the Bible could have said this.  That is the interesting part of the consistency of the Bible. 

If you read today’s passage then of course you recognized that Job said in Job 19:25 – 27 NLT. 

What really strikes me is that Job, arguably the oldest written text of the Bible, has a reference to Jesus the Messiah.  Actually, there are references to Jesus as the Messiah throughout the whole Bible.  There is a consistency there.  I have often thought of trying to catelog all the references, but then again I am sure that people much smarter than I have not only already done the work, but that they have also published it.  I did run across this website after a very quick search on the internet this morning.

It claims to have references and allusions to the Messiah (Jesus Christ) in each book of the Bible.

http://www.jesusplusnothing.com/jesus66books.htm

As you continue on your reading path this year, please be impressed with how consistent the writings are.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You have got to love consistency

  1. Joyce Geerts says:

    Today’s sharing lead me to Psalm 51 as I questioned myself : Am I consistent ?

    “create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast (consistent) spirit within me”

    Instantly, I prayed in my heart “ Father God, clean my heart, I want to cleanse my heart continuingly, my inner being need to be cleansed perpetually, in addition not only changed to glory, but from glory to glory. The more cleansing I have, the more I will be more steadfast (consistent). Cleanse me thoroughly, Father God so that I may attain the consistency of Jesus Christ, Your Son.

    May this be your prayer, too.

Leave a Reply

