Have you planned what’s for dinner tonight?

Today’s Reading:  Job 22 – 25:6

DSC06936If you have been reading this blog for the last few days, you know that on Saturday I wrote “Please taste my words! Please!”.  It used the idea that like food that we test/taste you should test the words that I share in my blog posts.  I want to tell you about that picture of my daughter and I holding the roasted turkey.

I had been planning for that meal for about 6 weeks. Ever since Thanksgiving came and went I had been thinking about having a mini Thanksgiving when we were all together again.  Since it was a minis Thanksgiving I had to determine what foods to cook.  I wrote a menu in my head three or four times.  I made shopping lists, cooking plans and contingency plans if something should go wrong. 

When the mini Thanksgiving day arrived I made the official shopping list and took my daughter to the grocery store to get the required items.  That was about 9 am.  Then from about 11 am – until we ate at 4 pm I cooked.  I roasted some garlic, cut and sautéed the mushrooms, onions, celery and carrots for a couple different recopies.  I prepared a rub for the turkey and slow roasted for over 5 hours, turning and checking it every 45 minutes.  My daughter took the time to make a carrot cake from scratch – no Betty Crocker boxed cakes here.  Between us, I would say we spent 7 hours working on that day’s meal.  Oh yeah, we spent another hour eating it and another hour eating breakfast (we went out for bagels!).  (just for the record – the picture is from Thanksgiving 2009)

Ok, what in the world does all this have to do with today’s reading? 

Job 23:11 – 12 NLT

11 For I have stayed on God’s paths;
      I have followed his ways and not turned aside.
12 I have not departed from his commands,
      but have treasured his words more than daily food.

Job throws this pair of verses out at us in his Eighth Speech: A Response to Eliphaz.  As you and I know and the three friends have not yet figured out is that Job was blameless in how his suffering and turmoil came about him.  Sure, one could challenge him about his depression and self pity – (I am not convinced I could have done any better in his situation). 

But, we know that Job was a man who worshipped God and these verses give us insight into who Job was and who God is.  Job reminds us of who faithful a man of God he was.  He strived to know God’s paths, directions, commands and words.  He treasured them more than daily food.

Did you catch that – he treasured God’s words more than daily food.  For a man who has found shopping for, cooking, talking about and eating food a major part of his life, this is a very interesting verse or concept.  Imagine that Job did not have all the resources that we have when it comes to God’s words.  If we believe there was no written parts of the Bible yet in existence then what was Job treasuring?  What was Job investing in?  I assume it was the societal teachings and priests of his day and what they said or what everyone knew about God.  Job treasured these things more than daily food.

How much time do we spend talking about, cooking and eating our meals.  What are the merits of the myriad of cheeses that we can get here in Netherlands.  What is your favorite steak and why?  Which is the hottest new restaurant in your home town these days?  Did you get Rachel Ray’s latest cook book? 

Do we spend more or less time reading, studying, memorizing, meditating and sharing God’s words or thinking about food.  Now there is food for thought!

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

