I wanted to find precious gems

Today’s Reading:  Job 26 – 29

Mountain_house_DSC_0087In the summer after freshmen year of high school I took an Earth Science class as something to keep me busy.  While the teacher was a bit weird, I loved the class.  That one class led me to take more Earth Science and Geology classes through out high school.  I loved studying about sedimentary, igneous and metamorphic rocks.  During those classes we had many field trips to see geology in the field.  We went cave exploring, visited geologically interesting landscapes and even went into some gold and lead mines.  I loved volcanism and plate tectonics so much I had convinced myself I was going to be a geologist.

One of the things that always interested me was the idea that certain minerals and gems could simply be found in the ground and could be worth something. The idea that I could walk along a rock strew path and pick up a stone, describe, classify it and determine its value gave me a great feeling. 

I eventually did go to college to study to be a geologist.  Unfortunately, there I found out that what I loved was the field work and not the 90% of the time spent in the lab looking through microscopes and working out math calculations.  I switched to sociology after one miserable semester.  I still love geology as a hobby, but now it is all fieldwork! Just last spring my son, my brother and I had a great geology vacation in Iceland (I blogged each day I was there.). 

DSC_0875

Today’s reading included Job chapter 28 which reminded me of my I want to be a geologist days. Nearly the first two thirds of the chapter relate how hard man looks into rocks, mountains and mines to find valuable minerals and gems.  He explains how hard they work and what amazing things are done to mine (especially amazing considering he is talking about at least 3500 years ago). 

While Job is impressed with all of man’s activity looking for treasure, he comes back with a key thought:

Job 28:12 NLT

12 “But do people know where to find wisdom?
      Where can they find understanding?

What great insight Job has.  As a matter of fact, had we placed this chapter in the book of Proverbs it could have been mistaken as coming directly from the pen of Solomon who was especially wise.DSC_0176

After talking about the true wisdom that God has, Job finished the chapter with the real precious gem of today’s reading:

Job 28:28 NLT

28 And this is what he says to all humanity:
   ‘The fear of the Lord is true wisdom;
      to forsake evil is real understanding.’”

If you have been following along on your daily reading, or if you are in your own daily reading plan, then you are on the path of finding precious gems and minerals.  You are on the path to find the Lord and true wisdom.  Will you continue to mine God’s word with me?

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I wanted to find precious gems

  1. Mathil Sanders says:

    Hi Tim,

    Thanks for the post. I have to admit that I sometimes read too fast to find a gem. Your last sentence triggered me, I will keep continue mining and with the grace of God I will find gems!!

  2. plimtuna says:

    Mathil,

    I have to admit, that I use many tools to find the gems. Often I will read a day’s passage and come up empty. I then go to Bible Commentaries or pastor friends to see if they have something on the topic.

    It has been more of a challenge this year, as I am committed to write each day (I have not written for today yet!). Last year, if I came up empty, I skipped. No easy outs this year.

    Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Plim

Leave a Reply

