Oh, that I had someone to hear me!

Today’s Reading:  Job 30 and 31

Have you ever been so depressed or despondent that you were convinced that no one was there for you?  Had you been so down, that even while there were people at your side you still felt alone?   Our reading today finds Job in that exact situation.  He is depressed and feels alone

Today we hear the last of Job’s complaining and arguments.  We still have to listen to the misleading advice and misconceptions of his friends, but Job has said the last of his story.  He finishes in a flurry of “I have done nothing wrong”s and “woe is me”s.  I found that he summarized his situation well here:

Job 31:35 NLT

35 “Oh, that I had someone to hear me!
   I sign now my defense—let the Almighty answer me;
   let my accuser put his indictment in writing.

The key sentence is the first – “Oh, that I had someone to hear me!”

This cry of Job’s came more than a three thousand years ago.  Even today three thousand plus years later, people still cry out for someone to listen to them.  Job’s words came more than one thousand years before the birth of Jesus Christ.  But for you and I it has been two thousand years since the birth, life, ministry, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  For us there is a clear answer – there is someone out there who is ready to hear us in our despair, depression and despondency. 

Matthew 11:28- 30 NIV

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

The whole time that Job was going through his crisis, God was there.  Job did not see him, or sense him or rest on that knowledge, but God was there.  In the same way God is there for us when we are going through our trials…

Psalm 46:10-11 NIV

10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
   I will be exalted among the nations,
   I will be exalted in the earth.”

11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
   the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Even in our most trying times, we are to be still and know that God is still God, he is with us and we are to be still and rest in that knowledge.  

Be Still and Know – Steven Curtis Chapman

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 18 - Job and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

