Where does sanctification come from?

Today’s Reading:  29:1 – 31:18

In today’s reading I had another one of those, hey, where did that verse come from moments.  You know what I mean, you are sure you have read it many times but today when you read it, it clicked, it jumped out at you.

Today’s jumping verse:

Exodus 29:43

NIV -  “there also I will meet with the Israelites, and the place will be consecrated by my glory.”

KJV -  "And there I will meet with the children of Israel, and [the tabernacle] shall be sanctified by my glory.”

NLT -  “I will meet the people of Israel there, in the place made holy by my glorious presence.”

I used three different versions because they each translated the Hebrew word qadash differently.  Strong’s translates the word as consecrate.

I suppose what word is used is not as important as much as the fact that it happens.  The area where God will meet the with the Israelites will be consecrated, sanctified and made holy.  That is the place where the people will share their praise, their confession, their thanksgivings and their requests.  It is the place that they meet God.  A wonderful glorious place.  

But there is a point that is even more important than the fact that it is a holy, consecrated, sanctified place.  The important thing for us to note today is how that special place was made holy.

Reading through the description of the tabernacle, its furniture, the priest’s garments, the offerings and such one would think that all of those details made the place holy. There is so much attention to detail one could believe that somehow it led to the sanctification of the place where God met the Israelites.  But no! 

Exodus 29:43

NIV -  “there also I will meet with the Israelites, and the place will be consecrated by my glory.”

KJV -  "And there I will meet with the children of Israel, and [the tabernacle] shall be sanctified by my glory.”

NLT -  “I will meet the people of Israel there, in the place made holy by my glorious presence.”

The place is made holy, consecrated and sanctified by God himself.  His mere presence makes it holy.  It was not made holy by any effort of man.  God alone provides the sanctification.

1 Corinthians 1:30 NASB

But by His doing you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, and righteousness and sanctification, and redemption,

1 Thessalonians 5:23 NIV

23 May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 02 - Exodus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

