Don’t read this post–please

Seriously, I would rather you didn’t read this post today or any other day.

Come on,  you can’t be serious?

No seriously, please don’t read any more. 

Now you have to be asking yourself – why would he be telling me not to read his posts anymore.

Here is the deal – just before my daughter left to go back to her spring semester of college we talked about her plan to read through the Bible again this year.  She mentioned that it is a struggle to read every day with her studies and her active social life.  I understand, really I do.  I have a job, my church responsibilities, my family responsibilities and my desire to have some time to relax each day.  Some days I miss my reading and I make it up the next day.  It is hard to keep it up.  I encouraged her to keep at it and enjoy it for the reading, not to treat it as a chore.

Then she said something that struck me hard.  She said “Now not only do I have to struggle to read the Bible each day, but now I have to read your blog posts each day.”

Wow, by creating this blog and its posts have I somehow given others another activity to keep them from reading their Bible?  Have I put a stumbling block in people’s path.  If so, stop reading right now.    I would much rather have you read one verse of the Bible every day than any one of my blog posts.  Really!.  My words are nothing in comparison to the wonderful words contained in God’s word.

One of my fears is that some will read the blog posts and consider them a substitute for actually reading God’s word.  Sure, they contain verses from the Bible.  But they are verses that I choose to share – they are not a replacement for the Bible itself.  Your commitment should be to the Word of God, not the posts of Plim!

Remember we read to get to know God and the life he has for us better.  Stop reading this blog and start reading your Bible.  If you are reading with us today you should read Exodus 37:1-39:31.  Soon we will finish Exodus and will move into Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.  As a reminder, we are following the plan from this site… http://www.oneyearbibleonline.com/oneyearweeklychrono.php.

If  you have read your Bible today and are still reading this post, then welcome and keep up the good work.

Psalm 119  NIV

א Aleph

1 Blessed are those whose ways are blameless,
   who walk according to the law of the LORD.
2 Blessed are those who keep his statutes
   and seek him with all their heart—
3 they do no wrong
   but follow his ways.
4 You have laid down precepts
   that are to be fully obeyed.
5 Oh, that my ways were steadfast
   in obeying your decrees!
6 Then I would not be put to shame
   when I consider all your commands.
7 I will praise you with an upright heart
   as I learn your righteous laws.
8 I will obey your decrees;
   do not utterly forsake me.

 

Photo Credits:  By Chiot’s Run, by Jesse Gardner and by Tojosan

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t read this post–please

  1. Nena says:

    i did not say it like that
    you make it sound like i don’t want to read your posts! 🙂

    • plimtuna says:

      No intention to make it sound like you did not want to read the blog. Just that it was extra work tied to the Bible reading plan. You are OK, no worries.

Leave a Reply

