40 days to make 1 day to break

Today’s ReadingLEVITICUS 20:1-22:33 

Almost 30 years ago when I made my first commitment to read the Bible on a regular basis, I was told “It takes 40 days to make a habit but just one day to break it.” The point of sharing that with was to encourage me to make it at least the 40 day mark of reading the Bible every day.  I did make it that year and any other year I have tried to read the Bible through.  For me it might be more like, 240 days does a habit make and one day to break.  Because, I always used to struggle not in the first 40 days, but in the later summer.

Well so far I have not missed a day and I am on schedule.  I have even posted on the blog everyday so far this year.  This is my 55th blog post this year (I did two one day).  I am sharing this because I almost went to bed before reading today’s passage and writing this post.  My wife encouraged me to stick to it and so here I am 12:09 AM on what is really the next day in the Netherlands.  However, some of my readers are in North America and for them I still have 7 hours.  Also, since I have not gone to bed yet, it is still today.

But I write all this to ask you a question:  How are you doing on reading your Bible this year?  Can you answer the question in our poll?

Just last night in my Bible study with some men from church this verse once again came up.  It has always meant a lot to me when talking about God’s word, the Bible.

Hebrews 4:14 NASB

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

