Carnival 2011–Day 1

When does your vacation begin?  Does it begin the first day off of work?  How about the first day away from home?  Or is it the first day you do something interesting? 

Since the very first day of our vacation for this year’s carnival consisted of me driving 11oo kilometers in 10 hours through a fairly boring landscape, I will not count yesterday as the first day of our vacation.  Today we saw interesting things so today is the first day of our vacation.

We awoke today in the small French town of Millau.  Until 4 years ago I had never even heard of it.  The only way we know of it is that they built a very impressive bridge there in 2004 and for about the last four years my son and I have seen a few Discovery Channel documentaries on how they built the bridge.  It is quite impressive at over 1100 feet tall (the world’s tallest).  By building it, they cut the travel time by hours.  Here is a wonderful shot that my son took this morning.

Our real destination was the French city of Nice.  We had heard it was nice Winking smile.  Just before we headed to the carnival parade we had a quick lunch.  My son had raved about the tiny fish they eat here, so I had to try them, they were actually quite good.  Not too fishy and only a small bone or two for the whole plate.  Maybe they are not for everyone, but they were good for me.

lunch fishys

Ultimately, our real destination was the parade, our first even Carnival parade.  We had review stand seats and they were well worth the extra effort we made to get them.   The parade was fun, but the people were more fun.  They spent thousands of Euros on what we would have called Silly String and confetti.  They made a grand mess of the plaza and each other.

carnival 1carnival 4

Many children and adults came dressed in a varied assortment of what we would have called fun Halloween customs.  Every parent bought them some silly string and the had a party.  There must have been something about me that said “Shoot at me”  because I was shot at quite a bit.  Maybe it was the permanent snarl I had.   At one point a 70 year old lady literally threw two full handfuls of confetti directly at my face.  I tripped her in response. Winking smile 

Carnival 2

An interesting float promoting peace in Israel. 

carnival Israel Peace

My two favorite companions for the day.

All in all a good day.  Tomorrow we are off to Monaco. 

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Carnival 2011, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

