Tie them on your doorposts

Today’s ReadingDeuteronomy 10 – 12

Do you remember gifts you were given 20 years ago?  Quite honestly, unless there were very special or unique I have most likely forgotten them.  My wife and I were married 20 years ago (you can read about our courtship here).  At our wedding in what I considered my home church in Peoria, Illinois, USA, we were blessed with many well wishers and gifts.  At that point in our life we were building our first home together so many gifts were items to set up a household.  There were towels, pillows, small appliances, etc.  Once in awhile I will grab a mixing bowl and remember that it was given to us on our wedding day.

One gift particularly sticks out to me.  The church secretary and embroidered a verse for us and had it put in a simple frame.  Just one verse, maybe a 5 inch by 5 inch frame.    Once in awhile I will pause to stop and read it again.  Unfortunately, it is in a box in storage in the US right now.

We have other verses in our house.  There is a ceramic plate that my daughter made for her mother for mother’s day about 5 years ago.  It has this verse on it.

Then there is another little plaque that someone gave us once with this verse Isaiah 40:31  on it:

On our refrigerator there has always been verses.  Either something we wrote to remind of us of something or maybe a verse that a missionary sent with a prayer letter.  I found this verse on the refrigerator.

I am glad that my family has verses in various locations around the house.  I hope it reinforced in my children’s lives the importance of God’s word in our lives.  I hope they remember the message they gave them.

For me we are living out this command from today’s reading:

Deuteronomy 11:18 – 21  NLT

18 “So commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these words of mine. Tie them to your hands and wear them on your forehead as reminders. 19 Teach them to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up. 20 Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates, 21 so that as long as the sky remains above the earth, you and your children may flourish in the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors.

Is the word of God important enough in your life to have a prominent place in your home?  Do your children and neighbors see it and know that it is important to you?  Are you encouraging one another by proclaiming the truths of God in your home?

Don’t you want your family to flourish under God’s promises?

Why not find some verses from God’s word that are important to you and display them in your homes?

DSC09556

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 05 - Deuteronomy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

