Did God Make the Sun Stand Still?

Today’s Reading: Joshua 10:1-12:6

sun stood still_cmcallen

Today’s reading admittedly is grim reading. It is a history document of Israel’s continued victories over the kings of the promised land. It is one of those “R” or “16″ rated parts of the Bible. There is not much hope written therein, and there is not much in the way of great spiritual insight. When I read it this morning, I was struck by something.  While describing the victory of the Israelites over the people of Amorites the following passages comes up:

Joshua 10:12 – 14 12 (NLT)

12 On the day the Lord gave the Israelites victory over the Amorites, Joshua prayed to the Lord in front of all the people of Israel. He said,

   “Let the sun stand still over Gibeon,

      and the moon over the valley of Aijalon.”

So the sun stood still and the moon stayed in place until the nation of Israel had defeated its enemies.

Is this event not recorded in The Book of Jashar? The sun stayed in the middle of the sky, and it did not set as on a normal day.

What?  Did I read that right?  So the sun stood still over Gibeon!

How is this so?  As one reads that sentence, if the reader is like me, they immediately start trying to figure it out.  How do you think this could have happened?

So far I can imagine people coming up with these possible explanations:

1,  It is a language translation issue.  The sentence should have read something like this “So the Sun appeared to stand still…”

2.  Apparently there must have been some sort of refraction of the image of the sun through a vapor layer that caused this event.

3.  Well, since modern man knows it is not the sun that moves, but the earth that rotates, it must mean the earth stopped rotating.  However, any physicist would tell you that if that happened the any object not connected firmly to the earth would suddenly move at 1000 mph the opposite direction of the rotation of the earth (due to momentum or inertia – I never took physics).

4.  The sun actually did move, thereby not affecting objects on earth as mentioned in #3.

Ok, as a well seasoned blog writer and reader of the Word of God, I have come up with the answer of what happened on that day during that battle.  My answer may not satisfy some of you. I have come to accept that not all people will believe everything I write every time.  But through my regular reading and study I found out how to answer this question.  The answer can be found in Deuteronomy…

Deuteronomy 29:29 (NIV)

The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law.

I don’t need to know how God made the sun and the moon stay in place.  Most likely I am unable to even comprehend how He did it.  If God created them – if God created the laws of physics, then he can do what he wants with them.  He is God and we are not.  All I know is, He did it.

In January we read this in Job…

Job 34:2 – 7 (NIV)

2 “Who is this that darkens my counsel
       with words without knowledge?

3 Brace yourself like a man;
       I will question you,
       and you shall answer me.

4 “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?
       Tell me, if you understand.

5 Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know!
       Who stretched a measuring line across it?

6 On what were its footings set,
       or who laid its cornerstone-

7 while the morning stars sang together
       and all the angels  shouted for joy?

The point is, why waste time trying to answer this question.  Let’s spend time on the things we do know. Later this year we will read this…

Matthew 22:34 – 40 (NIV)

34Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. 35One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question:

<36“Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” 37Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38This is the first and greatest commandment. 39And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.40All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

After I have obtained perfection on these two topics (which will only happen once I am in the presence of God) I will know the answer to how God caused the sun and moon to stand still.  How so?  I will simply ask Him.  Until then, I will focus on what I have been shown and what I do know.

______________

Related Post:  From March 20th Does God Have Secrets?

Photo Credit:  by cmcallen

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 06 - Joshua and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did God Make the Sun Stand Still?

  1. Jubin Jacob says:

    I did science as my major in school, but I am not a seasoned astrophysicist in any case. Like you, even I realize that the sun standing still or the earth ceasing to rotate will throw a lot of things in nature off balance. But if all His actions were explainable by our scientific reasoning, why hope in Him, or even worship Him?
    The sun stood still. Period. I wonder why people are so troubled by the fact that this event can’t be explained. Like you said, He is God and we are not. So let’s accept Him for who He is and give Him all the glory.

Leave a Reply

