How did you wake up today?

Today’s Readings:  1 Kings 2:1-9; 2 Samuel 23:1-7; 1 Kings 2:10-12; 1 Chronicles 29:26-30; Psalm 4-6; Psalm 8-9; Psalm11  

Today’s Specific Post Reading:  Psalm 5  

When I was in college at Bradley University I had the wonderful opportunity to be involved in a ministry called The Navigators.  Through the students and leaders that I met during those years in that ministry I learned the value of spending quiet time with God each day.  Within our group it had become a standard question each day as we met and interacted – “How was your quiet time this morning?”   It was a way to encourage one another to continue in the practice.  

Very early in one of the Bible studies that were conducted by the Navigators ministry was teaching on the idea of a morning quiet time.  A time when each individual spent time dedicated to God.  I typically spent my time praying and reading.  I found that if I used the acronym ACTS as I guide I used my time appropriately.   

ACTS reminded me to Pray:  

A doration – a time to return praise and glory to God  

C onfession – A time to confess my sins and cleanse myself  

T hanksgiving – A time to thank God for what He has done, is doing and will do.  

S upplication – Finally, a time to put your requests before God.  

Typically, I put a pause in between the C and the T to spend time reading the Word.  So, I looked at it like this – I start by focusing on God, read His Word, then bring it back to me and my daily world.  

Over the last three weeks we have learned a lot about David.  We have learned that he was a man after God’s own heart.  We learned that he constantly sought out God’s will and favor.  Sure, he was human and failed from time to time.  Nonetheless, at all times he returned to his relationship with God.  Whether David was in his Cave of Adullum or in the wilderness hiding from his enemies, he always sought out the Lord as his refuge.  

Today as we read Psalm 5 we see how David spent his mornings.  We have a teaching that David spent time each morning looking to his God for direction, comfort and meaning to the day that was laid out for him  

Psalm 5:1 – 3 (NLT)

1 O Lord, hear me as I pray;
      pay attention to my groaning.
2 Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God,
      for I pray to no one but you.
3 Listen to my voice in the morning, Lord.
      Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly. 

Did you know that even Jesus demonstrated this habit?  

Mark 1:35 (NIV)
35 Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed  

For me I find that the morning does work best.  It helps set a tone for the day.  If I miss there are many more opportunities to still have a quiet time.  There are less distractions.

My ideas on this topic are not original.  They are not unique, creative or even mine.  We have examples of David and Jesus and we have the examples of our Christian forefathers.  If this is not a habit that you have – please take a look at some of the links below to get a good study into the topic.  I can strongly recommend it.

____  

Some helpful sites on how to have a quiet time:

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How did you wake up today?

  1. Jubin Jacob says:

    Great wisdom here, Tim. Thanks. Never thought about a pause between C and T for a Bible reading. I think I’ll try that too.

  2. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    I woke up knowing that the Lord has given me another day. I will glorify him. What is crazy is yesterday was National Day of Prayer and it was a bad day. Today is not much better. So, if the enemy is chasing me down God is just around the corner for my Mother’s Day Blessings.

Leave a Reply

