Vindicate me, Lord

Today’s Reading Psalm 26 – a psalm of David

Vindicate me, Lord

David calls out to God for His mercies. He is contending with the wicked men who plan the wicked schemes (v10)

How wise and important that he asks God to test, try and examine him. He did not claim himself to be sinless and perfect. He is aware of secret sin may live in his heart. The righteous living and the fear of the Lord have to be the fundamental for our sincere request of God’s intervention. Let us say when the wicked man’s sins cause us hurt or damage, are we going to take revenge ? Or are we taking the grief to others ?

David recounts his decisions and choices to live a life of holiness (v3 -6), and declares his loyalty to God. If we are sincerely committed to Him, we are confident to stand up for examination and opposition. (v12)

Let us ponder in different areas of our lives in terms of worship, serving, marriage, career, finance, leisure time, health, future and welcome Him , Jesus to be our Lord of all.

1 Vindicate me, LORD,
   for I have led a blameless life;
I have trusted in the LORD
   and have not faltered.
2 Test me, LORD, and try me,
   examine my heart and my mind;
3 for I have always been mindful of your unfailing love
   and have lived in reliance on your faithfulness.

4 I do not sit with the deceitful,
   nor do I associate with hypocrites.
5 I abhor the assembly of evildoers
   and refuse to sit with the wicked.
6 I wash my hands in innocence,
   and go about your altar, LORD,
7 proclaiming aloud your praise
   and telling of all your wonderful deeds.

8 LORD, I love the house where you live,
   the place where your glory dwells.
9 Do not take away my soul along with sinners,
   my life with those who are bloodthirsty,
10 in whose hands are wicked schemes,
   whose right hands are full of bribes.
11 I lead a blameless life;
   deliver me and be merciful to me.

12 My feet stand on level ground;
   in the great congregation I will praise the LORD. (NIV)

Joyce GeertsToday’s guest poster is Joyce Geerts: Joyce and her husband Stefan are friends of mine from our international church. Joyce comes from Malaysia and has been a Christian for 20 years. They are wonderful leaders in our Children’s church ministry. She has been a faithful reader and commenter of this blog.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

