F.A.I.T.H. to let go and let God

Tue, May 10 Readings: Psalm 35-38

Today’s Post Reading: Psalm 35 – a psalm of David

Let God and let Go, let Him alone hear your heart in pain, have faith in Him as He will be your defense…..

David could not comprehend why he was forced to run away from men who were unjustly seeking to kill him. They had experience his goodness instead repaid him with kindness but had turned against him (v12) .

His spirit was down at that moment thus he gave this very matter to God. Look how David tackled his situations – he told God about his inner frustration.

In verse 4 he tells us that he had a strong feeling about what he would love to see happen to his enemies. Nevertheless, he did not take any action by himself against them.

Self fame/glory, jealousy, perhaps greed could have stimulated people to act unjustly. Ungratefulness and betrayal are common in our daily life.

Shall we react by obtaining EVEN with those who are against us?  Our natural reaction may be tempted to lash out in short or to give our full defense instead of asking God for intervention, even though at times it seems to take a long time to see end results.

Shall we be silent but store our unhealthy emotions deep within us and subsequently allowing them to “harbor” or build to the boiling point?

Let’s us learn a better way from David, He called, expressed and told God all about it. Neither did he plot a selfish plan nor did he “simmer” deep within. Open our hearts to God. Have faith in Him in every thing,

Forsake All I Take Him only.

Psalm 35 (NIV)

1 Contend, LORD, with those who contend with me;
   fight against those who fight against me.
2 Take up shield and armor;
   arise and come to my aid.
3 Brandish spear and javelin[a]
   against those who pursue me.
Say to me,
   “I am your salvation.”

4 May those who seek my life
   be disgraced and put to shame;
may those who plot my ruin
   be turned back in dismay.
5 May they be like chaff before the wind,
   with the angel of the LORD driving them away;
6 may their path be dark and slippery,
   with the angel of the LORD pursuing them.

7 Since they hid their net for me without cause
   and without cause dug a pit for me,
8 may ruin overtake them by surprise—
   may the net they hid entangle them,
   may they fall into the pit, to their ruin.
9 Then my soul will rejoice in the LORD
   and delight in his salvation.
10 My whole being will exclaim,
   “Who is like you, LORD?
You rescue the poor from those too strong for them,
   the poor and needy from those who rob them.”

11 Ruthless witnesses come forward;
   they question me on things I know nothing about.
12 They repay me evil for good
   and leave me like one bereaved.
13 Yet when they were ill, I put on sackcloth
   and humbled myself with fasting.
When my prayers returned to me unanswered,
14 I went about mourning
   as though for my friend or brother.
I bowed my head in grief
   as though weeping for my mother.
15 But when I stumbled, they gathered in glee;
   assailants gathered against me without my knowledge.
They slandered me without ceasing.

 

Joyce GeertsToday’s guest poster is Joyce Geerts: Joyce and her husband Stefan are friends of mine from our international church. Joyce comes from Malaysia and has been a Christian for 20 years. They are wonderful leaders in our Children’s church ministry. She has been a faithful reader and commenter of this blog.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

