Boldly Tell the Story

Today’s ReadingsPsalm 61-62, 64 – 67

Dental Hygiene by ktpupp

I had the wonderful privilege of having my teeth checked and cleaned at the dentist yesterday.  The dental hygienist spent easily 30 minutes scraping and polishing my teeth.  I enjoyed every poke of my gum, every scrape of my plaque. 

Why was it so enjoyable?  In the Netherlands the dentist I have used, when I asked them for a cleaning, spent about five minutes.  Nothing special, nothing too thorough – just a quick cleaning.  Yesterday, in that dentist chair I felt like I was being a good boy washing behind my ears and cleaning under my fingernails.  I was doing the right thing.

My dentist has a new hygienist; well maybe not that new.  She has been there four years, but she was new to me, and I was new to her.  With her hands in my mouth, conducting the wonderful cleaning, it gave her an opportunity to tell me lots of stories.  She also asked lots of questions, which I always find curious – how does one answer detailed questions with someone else’s hand your mouth? 

Either way, she loved to tell me stories.  She talked about her family; she has a nephew by marriage who is about to take a job in Dubai.  She talked about her neighborhood; did you know that Dappers is now called Dapps (it is spelled with two “P”’s).  She told me about the demo of some new equipment the dentist is considering installing; the new digital x-ray viewer is not that big.

Why did she spend all the time talking and telling me stories?  Because the are interesting to her.  They are parts of her life.  The stories help define who she is and what is important to her.  She is excited about what is going on in her life.

King David does the exact same thing and he thought we should also.  In today’s reading we come across David’s Psalm 67.  In he tells us that we should “tell the world how glorious he is.” 

In verse five he invites us to come and hear the stories of what God has done.  He then tells of the crossing of the Red Sea. 

For me the Psalm finishes well with these verses:

Psalm 67:16 – 20  NLT

16 Come and listen, all you who fear God,
      and I will tell you what he did for me.
17 For I cried out to him for help,
      praising him as I spoke.
18 If I had not confessed the sin in my heart,
      the Lord would not have listened.
19 But God did listen!
      He paid attention to my prayer.
20 Praise God, who did not ignore my prayer
      or withdraw his unfailing love from me.

God wants us to be like my dental hygienist, he wants us to tell people about what is important in our lives.  He wants us to tell what good things God has done for us.  He wants us to tell others about what God pulled us up out of .  He wants us praise him through crediting God for all he has done.

I don’t suggest walking up to people on the street, sticking your hands in their mouths, and then telling them all you can about God.  But I do think you and I should look for more opportunities to tell our story of God’s work in our lives. 

Photo Credit:  by ktpupp

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

