Plim–where are you?

Many of you may be asking – Plimtuna where are you?  Were you the only one raptured on the 22nd of May?  Where are your posts?  What happened to your commitment to a post a day in 2011?

Please allow me to explain.  More than anything I have have had a very crazy schedule for the last 5 weeks.  In the last five weeks I have been away from home for four of them.  I have spent parts or whole weeks in Netherlands, Germany, Poland, London, Chicago and Las Vegas.  Unfortunately for me it mean my internal time clock is quite confused.  Just this morning I awoke at 2am and was unable to get back to sleep, though I am tired.  Right now I am trying to recover from 9 hour jet lag. 

Here is a picture of my wife, son and I in Krakow, Poland. 

DSC09865

The good news is that I have no plans for travel at all right now, except a two day trip to Berlin, Germany where I will speak at a conference on ICT Compliance in late June.

While I have been traveling, I have not lost my love for reading God’s Word and I still have a desire to share my thoughts with all of you.  During the last five weeks I have been reading other books also.  Recently I read or am reading:

Rob Bell’s – “Love Wins” :  I hope to write more on this one day.  It is not a book I am recommending.  It rather poorly misuses the Bible, is misleading and rather sad.  Many have written about it and I will only add a bit more noise to the din.

Corrie ten Boom’s – ‘The Hiding Place”:  My second time through the book, but the first for my wife.  It was an interesting book to listen to as we went on vacation in Germany and Poland, visiting Berlin, Warsaw, Krakow and Auschwitz.   Seeing the death camp made Corrie’s story of her time in Ravensbruk work camp very real to us.

Dietrich Bonheoffer’s – “Cost of Discipleship”:  A very heavy and important book.  I can only read about 10 pages at a time before I have to pause and reflect.  However, his discussion on the misguided theology of “cheap grace” was extremely insightful having just read “Love wins”. 

We stopped in front of Dietrich Bonheoffer’s home in Berlin while there…

DSC09689

Reading all of these books and having the wide experiences these recent weeks, I believe that I may experiment with a bit more open style of blog posting.  I may share more of what I am doing and reading.  For instance there is much to talk about Bonheoffer’s book “Cost of Discipleship”  I could wait to share appropriate parts as they come up later in my Bible reading, but I may not have the discipline to wait that long.  What are your thoughts?  Shall I stick to Chronological Bible Reading or make the blog a bit more dynamic?  Where do you find value?

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in Bonus Post and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plim–where are you?

  1. Jubin Jacob says:

    Glad to see you back Tim.

    I think you can post as you are led to. I think Like most people I come to your blog hoping for something to learn and to reflect on. Even if you digress a bit from the Chronological posting, I think it would be fine.

Leave a Reply

