Bless the Child

Today’s Passage:   Mark 10:13 – 16

I ran across this in my reading today. 

Mark 10:13-16 (NLT)

Jesus Blesses the ChildrenGuatemalan boy

13 One day some parents brought their children to Jesus so he could touch and bless them. But the disciples scolded the parents for bothering him.

14 When Jesus saw what was happening, he was angry with his disciples. He said to them, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children. 15 I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.” 16 Then he took the children in his arms and placed his hands on their heads and blessed them.

Reading this today reminded me of a commitment my family made about 14 months ago.  When we went back to the US to bring my daughter to her first year of college we decided to finally do something we had talked about for years.  We sponsored a child through World Vision.  Since we have close connections to Guatemala we chose a 9 year old boy from the Guatemalan countryside. 

World Vision provides a way for you to connect to a project, better said to a person, who’s life you can positively impact.  For less than a 1 euro a day we are helping meet some of Marcos Antonio’s daily needs.  You can do more than simply support the child, you can also exchange cards and gifts etc.  Unfortunately, we are not good at communicating and wish we would do more – maybe my post will spark some interest in the family.

Are you following the example of Jesus?  Are you blessing the children?  Consider looking into sponsoring a child today through World Vision or any other worthy charity.

World Vision – Sponsor a Child website

Photo Note:  Not a photo of the child we sponsor Photo by Basterous

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 41 - Mark and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bless the Child

  1. Greg M says:

    Great idea Tim.

  2. 30 Years ago this day, was one of the best days of my life. I thank God for it frequently. I thank Him for you, even more.

Leave a Reply

