What to do when someone wants to kill you

Today’s Reading1 Samuel 17:32-19:17; Psalm 59; 1 Samuel 19:18-24

Ok, I know the title of this post is a bit ridicules, in that it is very unlikely that anyone who reads this is really in fear that someone wants to kill them.  Nonetheless, today’s reading provides us a great example.  It gives us a model of how we are to respond.

To stretch the story a bit – I am going to look at the story not so much as a lesson when someone wants to kill you, but more as a lesson on what to do when we are greatly challenged or attacked spiritually. 

1 Peter5:8 NIV

Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

The Background

At the beginning of today’s reading, David is just a teenager.  Here is where we read of the great victory against the philistine giant Goliath.  David begins to have victory after victory.  The people begin to sing more praises to David than to King Saul himself.

King Saul is getting increasingly jealous of David.  Two times in today’s reading Saul gets so tormented and jealous that he actually throws a spear at David, missing both times.  Finally it gets so bad, David has to flee for his life.

1 Samuel 19:9 – 12  NLT

9 But one day when Saul was sitting at home, with spear in hand, the tormenting spirit[e] from the Lord suddenly came upon him again. As David played his harp, 10 Saul hurled his spear at David. But David dodged out of the way, and leaving the spear stuck in the wall, he fled and escaped into the night.

11 Then Saul sent troops to watch David’s house. They were told to kill David when he came out the next morning. But Michal, David’s wife, warned him, “If you don’t escape tonight, you will be dead by morning.” 12 So she helped him climb out through a window, and he fled and escaped.

What can we learn from David’s response?

1. David sought spiritual advice:  He goes to see his mentor  Samuel…

1 Samuel 19:18 NLT

18 So David escaped and went to Ramah to see Samuel, and he told him all that Saul had done to him. Then Samuel took David with him to live at Naioth.

2. He sought out God’s help in prayer:  Read Psalm 59, which David wrote after having to flee the palace.

Psalm 59:1 – 4 NLT

1 Rescue me from my enemies, O God.
Protect me from those who have come to destroy me.
2 Rescue me from these criminals;
save me from these murderers.
3 They have set an ambush for me.
Fierce enemies are out there waiting, Lord,
though I have not sinned or offended them.
4 I have done nothing wrong,
yet they prepare to attack me.
Wake up! See what is happening and help me!

3.  Praise Him that is in control:  Ultimately, David left the issue in the Lord’s hands and he praised the Lord for his greatness.

Psalm 59:16 – 17  NLT

16 But as for me, I will sing about your power.
Each morning I will sing with joy about your unfailing love.
For you have been my refuge,
a place of safety when I am in distress.
17 O my Strength, to you I sing praises,
for you, O God, are my refuge,
the God who shows me unfailing love.

About plimtuna

I am just an average guy trying to find his way along this journey of life. I am definitely middle aged. I am definitely happily married with a wife and two children. Personally, I have a passion for things eternal. Professionally, I have a passion for things that are securely in control.
This entry was posted in 09 - I Samuel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment