Our Awesome God

Guest Poster:   Ricardo Seguel writes today’s post. Ricardo is Ph.D. student at the Eindhoven University of Technology.  He lives in Eindhoven with his lovely wife Cristina. He’s originally from Chile, he is passionate about the Word of God and music. He’s a young friend of mine from my International Church in Eindhoven, Netherlands.

Today’s reading: Psalm 22-26.

In last April I read in the news that the biggest telescope of the world will be built in Chile’s Atacama desert by the European Southern Observatory (ESO). Astronomers said the observatory will be so powerful and it will be able to get images of planets beyond our Solar System.

It’s not the first time that a group of people try to see beyond our limited eyes, using the most advanced technology with the only goal of finding what’s there, what’s space’s origin, and finally if there exists an Almighty Creator: God.

While those men are looking for the answers of those questions and looking everyday at the sky and searching in the space, others are looking at the ground and following the same routine everyday.  However, for God’s children there are some related questions:

  • Are you looking at the ground or at the sky?
  • How many times do you see the sky to contemplate how awesome is our God?
  • Do you recognize how great and awesome is our God, the space creator?

In the today’s passage, King David cries out to God, humble recognizing his mortal nature and the greatness of God:

Psalm 22:6 (NIV)
But I am a worm and not a man,
scorned by men and despised by the people.

He also recognizes his place before our Lord in Psalm 8:

Psalm 8:4 (NIV)
What is man that you are mindful of him,
the son of man that you care for him?

Like King David, every time that we pray recognizing how great is our God and asking for His mercy on us, then we are looking at the sky and contemplating His lovely face:

Psalm 22:24 (NIV)
For he has not despised or disdained
the suffering of the afflicted one;
he has not hidden his face from him
but has listened to his cry for help.

Yes, our Lord is seeing us, He is listening to our prayers. Our God is a living God, our God is real.  The good shepherd, the Lord, takes care of us He protects us He saves us and gives us everything that we need:

Psalm 23:1-3 (NIV)
The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

The Good Shepherd, Jesus Christ knows us and we know Him:

John 10:14-15 (NIV)
I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me
— just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.

If Jesus Christ is our Good Shepherd and He laid down His life for us, then why can we be sad?  Look at the sky, look at the space and lift your soul to our God, for He is our Savior:

Psalm 25:1-5 (NIV)
To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul;
in you I trust, O my God.
Do not let me be put to shame,
nor let my enemies triumph over me.
No one whose hope is in you
will ever be put to shame,
but they will be put to shame
who are treacherous without excuse.
Show me your ways, O LORD,
teach me your paths;
guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long.

How great it is standing in his Holy presence, as a sheep lying down in green pastures.  Every time that we pray, every time that we get gathered in the church, every time that we talk with our Lord, He cleanses us He restores us and He blesses us:

Psalm 24:3-5 (NIV)
Who may ascend the hill of the LORD ?
Who may stand in his holy place?
He who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not lift up his soul to an idol or swear by what is false.
He will receive blessing from the LORD
and vindication from God his Savior.

How great it is dwelling in the house of God, as a sheep beside quiet waters:

Psalm 23:6 (NIV)
Surely goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD  forever.

Psalm 26:8 (NIV)
I love the house where you live, O LORD,
the place where your glory dwells.

We rejoice in His almighty presence, we praise His name because our God is the King of Glory!

Psalm 24:8,10 (NIV)
Who is this King of glory?
The LORD strong and mighty,
the LORD mighty in battle.

Who is he, this King of glory?
The LORD Almighty—
he is the King of glory. Selah

The King of Glory, Our God has ears and He listens to us.  Our God has eyes and He sees us.  Our Lord answers us, our God lives! Our God is an awesome God!

God bless you!

This entry was posted in 19 - Psalms, Encouragement, Guest Posters, Read through the Bible in a Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our Awesome God

  1. John Bax says:

    Thanks, Ricardo

  2. Fernando Sanchez Seguel says:

    es cierto el hombre busca respuestas sin saber q ya la tiene… lindo lo que escribiste

  3. Pingback: Trust in Jesus Christ | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

  4. Pingback: Monthly Update – May 2010 | 1 Year, 1 Book, Many People

Leave a comment